What this guide is about:
‚ÄčThis webpage is a guide to resources related to ecclesiology in the Seventh-day Adventist Church. It includes official church statements, position papers, library books, online articles, as well as databases such as Ellen White's writings online.


This guide does not list everything that is available in the library or online. As you research, you will need to search online, use the library website, and/or talk to a librarian to continue to gather sources for your project. When you're done with the links on this page, try searching in the databases and website listed here. They are highly recommended.
  1. Theology databases contain collections of scholarly and popular articles [select "subject" for just theology].
  2. EGW Writings online can be searched for keywords that appear in Ellen White's published works, and relevant passages are pulled up in full text.
  3. Adventist Review is the official publication of the church, and it provides a good window into current conversation from the official SDA perspective. 
  4. Spectrum Magazine provides a broad voice that asks questions meant to disrupt the status quo.

Image credit: https://www.adventistmission.org/adventist-mission
History of the Christian church
Books about the Christian Church
The links below will open lists of library books on these topics.
Origins of the Christian Church
The beginning of Christianity
Old Testament history
New Testament history
Development of Christian doctrine
Development of Christian theology
Systematic Theology
History of reform and change in Christian theology. This link opens a list of links; click the first one for a selection of books. Theology, Doctrinal -- History.

Articles about the Christian Church
The links below will open search results for articles on these topics. 
The beginning of Christianity
History of the Old Testament
History of the New Testatment
The Early Christian Church

Continue searching in these databases:
ATLA Religion Index (EBSCO)
ProQuest Religion

Websites about Christianity and the Church
Christian Cyclopedia edited by Erwin Lueker. The Lutheran Church in Missouri has digitized this encyclopedia and made it free to read online. 

Creeds of Christendom. Online texts of various Christian creeds and confessions.

Digital Dead Sea Scrolls. The Isreal Museum has digitized the Dead Sea Scrolls, and the images are searchable here.

Digital Scriptorium. This is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts, provided by Columbia University. 

Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World. Image resources for Biblical studies and the Ancient Near East.

The Hall of Church History. This is a good source for a variety of materials on Medieval Churchmen, heretics, various denominations, creeds and catechisms, etc. The site takes a Calvinist perspective.

History of Christianity Reading Room. This page is designed to help make History of Christianity resources available to those without easy access to a theological library. 


Religious Studies Web Guide. This web site, in existence since 1995, focuses on free internet resources for academic researchers of religion. See this shortcut to links about Christianity

For more books, recommended book chapters, articles, videos, and more, visit Gary Shearer's bibliography on the Early Christian Church. Shearer was a librarian at PUC who created lists of PUC library resources by subject. If you need help finding anything on his list, your professor or a librarian can help.
Contemporary issue: Race
What the church says about race:
Official church statement on racism, published June 1985.

In 2015, the church officially affirmed the role of regional (or black) conferences in North America. 

History of race in the church:
Ellen G. White and Church Race Relations. By Ronald D. Graybill. This document is published on the EGW writings website. The author brings together many statements Ellen White made about race and the church. To read this document, it is like an ebook. The link will open a title page, and you will click "next" to go page by page. Otherwise, jump to the table of contents here. 

Seeking a sanctuary : seventh-day Adventism and the American dream. By Malcolm Bull. This book talks about the development of Adventism, and includes a chapter specifically on race.

Thou who hath brought us : the development of the Seventh-day Adventist denomination among African-Americans. By Charles E. Dudley ; Tamar Henley Corry, editor. This 3-volume set of books gives the complete history of the SDA church from the persepective of African-American members, from 1863 to the 1990s.

The Problem with Africanity in the Seventh-Day Adventist Church. By Alven Makapela. This unique volume traces the historical presence of Africans, African Americans and Afro-Caribbeans in the Seventh Day Adventist Church. It examines historical issues which have contributed to the problems of race relations in the church, and also challenges the church either to correct or reinterpret its doctrines, as the book shows some of them to have been based on false historical assumptions.

A few examples from the current conversation about race:
On August 14, 2017, Daniel Xisto shared on Facebook his thoughts about the violent white power rally in Charlottesville. Xisto is the pastor of the Charlottesville Seventh-day Adventist Church in Virginia.  

NAD officials published a statement about the violence in Charlottesville, which was published by the Columbia Union in this news article from August 2017. 

During Black History Month 2017 at Andrews University, the students created a video called "It is Time AU," that called for conversation about racism on the campus. The video was prompted by events at a chapel talk. Within a week, the administration of the school responded with a video that apologized and made promises to move forward. As one step toward dealing with the issues that "It is Time AU" called out, AU hired a vice president for diversity. He was interviewed by Spectrum magazine in September 2017. Previously, AU has hosted summits on race and justice. 

In February 2016, students on YikYak at Southern Adventist University engaged in racist insults and remarks. This Spectrum article recounts the response across many SDA college and university campuses. The article includes screenshots of social media posts and links to the official statements by SAU and others.

Professor Cleran L. Hollancid has written several articles about race in the SDA church, which is his major subject of study. His 8-part series of articles published in Adventist Today (May 2017) covers the history of race issues in the church, up through the present day. He also wrote an article for Compass Magazine which is well-researched and a bit of a shorter look at the place of "race, ethnicity, and culture in the Christian church."

For a response to the 2016 Compass Magazine panels on race (linked in the article), see Spectrum's reporting from last summer. 
Contemporary issue: Social Justice
What the church says about social justice:
Official church statement on tolerance, published June 1995.

Official church statement on human relations, published July 1995.

Official church statement on "Historic Stand for Temperance Principles and Acceptance of Donations Statement Impacts Social Change," published October 1992.

Official church statement on the 50th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, published November 1998. 

Official church statement on climate change, with a call for government action, published December 1995.

Official church statement on global poverty, published June 2010.

Official church statement on homelessness and poverty, published July 1990.

Official church statement on gambling, published June 2000.


History of social justice in the church:
A Call to Stand Apart, published in 2011, compiles statements by Ellen White. Chapter 15 deals specifically with Social Justice.

Seventh-day Adventists and the civil rights movement. By Samuel G. London, Jr. London writes about the history of "non-participation" that Adventists had to overcome in order to stand up for civil rights. He reports on historical arguments for and against activism for civil rights. 


"Seventh-day Adventists, Human Rights and Social Work," by Bedrich Jetelina. Published in Caritas et veritas, Vol. 4, No. 1 (2014), pp. 22–32. PDF of the Jetelina article available here. pdf

"Adventists, Prohibition, and Political Involvement" by Jared Miller. Published November 2011 in Liberty Magazine

The Ellen White Estate answers questions that come to them by mail. On their website, they have posted their answers to questions about Ellen White's involvement with the Christian Women's Temperance Movement (see also this Spectrum article) as well as the First Women's Rights Convention in Seneca Falls, NY.

Remnant and republic : Adventist themes for personal and social ethics. Edited by Charles W. Teel, Jr. ; introduction by Martin E. Marty. This book was published in 1995. Each chapter discusses a topic through the lens of ethics, which often motivates social justice. The authors give a somewhat historical 20th century Adventist perspective on ethical issues. 

The silent church : human rights and Adventist social ethics. By Zdravko Plantak ; foreword by Sakae Kubo.  From the publisher of this 1998 book: "The relationship between the Adventist church and society at large has always been ambiguous. One reason for this has been the church's inarticulate social ethics.... Zdravko Plantak confronts this problem head-on. He begins by looking at the church's history, theology, and ethics in order to discover reasons for the inconsistencies in its approach to human rights, and then moves on to propose a more comprehensive approach to its social ethics."

The body of Christ : a Biblical understanding of the church. By Reinder Bruinsma. One chapter of this 2009 book deals entirely with social justice in the SDA church.

A few examples from the current conversation about social justice: 
Adventist Peace Fellowship. This organization  is an independent 501(c)(3) non-profit organization founded in 2001 that seeks to raise consciousness about the centrality of peacemaking and social justice to the beliefs and heritage of Adventists. In 2016 they hosted a conference on social justice in Washington, D.C. 

Adventists for Social Justice is an organization started by Tiffany Llewellyn in 2016. Spectrum interviewed her about her motivations and hopes for the group. The Facebook page for ASJ doesn't show much recent activity, but old posts from 2016 capture the work they did at the time. Currently there is an ASJ Summit planned for November 3, 2017.

ADRA and Adventist Community Services combine efforts in the fall of 2017 to help people devastated by Hurricanes Harvey and Irma. 


"Jesus Waits—An Adventist Perspective on Social Justice," a post on the GYC blog. The unnamed author makes a scripture-based appeal for action on behalf of oppressed people everywhere.

"Jamaica’s Adventist Prime Minister Announces Plans to Partner With Churches on Social Intervention" an Adventist Today article published in September 2017.

This Spectrum article reports on the 2008 Compassion Forum, which dealt with poverty. More information about the Compassion Forum itself is on the Messiah College website

"We Stand For All" was a July 2016 rally of Adventists on the National Mall to "show their care, concern and support for change in our nation following the deaths of two black men and five police officers." This Spectrum article includes videos of the rally and links to further information. 

Liberty Magazine's March/April 2017 issue dealt entirely with Protestant contributions to Civil Rights. 
Contemporary issue: Women
What the church says about women:
Official church statement on women's issues, published June 1995.

General Conference official description of the Theology of Ordination Study Committee (TOSC).

Full text of the final TOSC report, published in 2014.

Adventist.org official page on "women," last updated 2017.

History of women in the church:
Ellen White and the Role of Women in the Church, by William Fagal. This ebook compiles Ellen White's statements about women in the church.

Adventists Affirm published an article in Ministry Magazine in 1989 that explores what Ellen White said about women's ordination.

The ordination of women. By Jan Voerman. Voerman's conservative take on the ordination question draws from the writings of the early church fathers and Ellen G. White.

Women and ordination : Seventh-day Adventist leaders and scholars explore an important issue facing the church. Editor, John W. Reeve.

Seventh-Day Adventism in crisis : gender and sectarian change in an emerging religion. By Laura L. Vance.

Women in new religions. By Laura Vance. Women in New Religions offers an engaging look at women's evolving place in the birth and development of new religious movements. It focuses on four disparate new religions, including Seventh-day Adventism. The chapter on Adventism discusses women's role in church development, as well as gender socialization, religious leadership and participation, sexuality, and family ideals. 

"Archaeologist at Andrews University Addresses the Role of Women in the Early Church," an Adventist Today article published in March 2017.

A few examples from the current conversation about women:
In June 2017, theologians met for the London Unity Conference, which discussed the issue of church unity in the face of opposition to women's ordination. Spectrum wrote about it, as did Adventist Today.

"Pacific Union Conference Votes to Authorize the Ordination of Women to Gospel Ministry," by the Adventist Today News Team, last updated August 20, 2012. This article reports on the kinds of actions that led to the 2015 GC vote about women's ordination.

This NAD-sponsored site recounts the TOSC committee's work all the way up to the 2015 General Conference vote, which stated that divisions may not decide ordination for themselves. 

"Adventists stay the course, vote to deny women's ordination," by Adelle M. Banks, published Jul 9, 2015. A Catholic news network reports on the results of the 2015 GC vote against women's ordination in Adventism.

"North American Division Proposes Way Forward Over Women’s Ordination Issue," by Bonnie Dwyer, published April 2017. The fallout from the 2015 vote continues, as SDA Unions prepare for action from the GC.

A Short History of the Headship Doctrine in the Seventh-day Adventist Church. By Gerry Chudleigh, published April 2014. a-short-history-of-the-headship-doctrine-in-the-seventh-day-.pdf pdf

Gerry Chudleigh sat down with Spectrum in 2014 to give an interview about the history of headship theology and its subsequent affect on gender roles in the church. 

An August 2014 article reported that Andrews University theologians approved a statement on headship theology. The statement emphasizes equality of men and women as members of the body of Christ. In October 2014, the Andrews faculty reaffirmed their statement. 

The SDA church creates publications specifically for women--these are just a few examples. At The Table is the South Pacific Division's free monthly magazine for women. The magazine is not digital, but the website includes a talk show and articles. The North American Division Women's Ministries has the website Gorgeous2God, which is marketed toward teen girls. The world church also has a Women's Ministry website
 
Contemporary issue: Gender & LGBTQ
What the church says about gender and LGBTQ:
Official church statement on transgenderism, published April 2017. 

Official church statement on same-sex marriage, published October 2012.

Official church statement on homosexuality, published October 2012.

Church guidelines for "Responding to Changing Cultural Attitudes Regarding Homosexual and Other Alternative Sexual Practices," published April 2014.

Official church statement on the SDA mission in changing social environments, published October 2007.

History of gender and LBGTQ in the church:
"Testimonies on Sexual Behavior, Adultery and Divorce," a compilation of Ellen White's writings, published 1989. Chapter 16 deals with homosexuality.


Gay religion. Edited by Scott Thumma and Edward R. Gray. This 2005 book includes a chapter called "No longer an oxymoron: integrating gay and lesbian Seventh-day Adventist identities," by Renée Drumm.

Christianity and homosexuality : some Seventh-day Adventist perspectives. Edited by David Ferguson, Fritz Guy and David Larson.

Homosexuality, marriage, and the church : biblical, counseling, and religious liberty issues. Edited by Roy E. Gane, Nicholas P. Miller, H. Peter Swanson.

"Pornography and Homosexuality: is it a sin?" by D.A. Delafield. This document is provided by the White Estate. It includes relevant quotes from Ellen White. See related and recommended documents also linked along the right side of the page.

A few examples from the current conversation about gender and LGBTQ:
Walla Walla University's Week of Worship (October 2-6, 2017) includes a sermon on the topic of LGBTQ issues, which can be viewed at 
wallawalla.edu/wow. The speaker's outline is also available. WWU_WOW_LGBT_.pdf pdf

Spectrum magazine rounds up a number of responses to the April 2017 official church statement on transgenderism. Many of the responses are from Adventists who identify as transgender.

Spectrum also provides responses to the US Supreme Court decision that legalized gay marriage in 2015. 

Pastor Alicia Johnston's article "3 Principles You Need to Preach on LGBT Topics" gives tips on being compassionate toward LGBTQ members of a church audience. Published April 2017. Her website contains other similar posts from the perspective of a pastor who has been in the SDA church.

"Sexuality as Something Sacred," by David E. Thomas, published June 2013 in the Adventist Review
Contemporary issue: Violence
What the church says about violence:
Official church statement on abuse and family violence, published July 1995.

Official church statement about ending violence against women and girls, published June 2010.

Official church statement on nurturing and protecting children, published June 2010.

Official church statement on family violence, published October 1996.

Official church statement affirming the family, published July 1990.

History of discussing violence in the church: 
Counsels to Families by Ellen White doesn't directly call out domestic violence, but it does present the ideal homelife. 

This page on the Adventist Family Ministries website gives a brief history of Adventist outreach toward victims of domestic violence, especially after 1995 when the General Conference identified it as a major problem.

"Abuse in the Adventist Church," by Renée Drumm and others, published 2007 in the Adventist Review

A few examples from the current conversation about violence: 
Enditnow is a campaign by the World Headquarters of Seventh-day Adventist Church to stop violence against women and raise awareness worldwide.  EndItNow was established in 2009, and has extended to more than 200 countries and territories through the various humanitarian and women’s ministries efforts.

"Confronting Human Trafficking," by Ashley Eisele, published September 2017. This Adventist Review article is written by an ADRA employee about the Keep Girls Safe shelter run by Adventists in Thailand. 

"They are not alone: Students raise $50k for family violence project," By Ashley Steele, published September 25, 2017 in the Adventist Record.
‚Äč

"Domestic Violence," by Barry Oliver, is an article from the Adventist Record, published April 2015. Adventist Record is the official news and lifestyle magazine for the South Pacific Division of the Seventh-day Adventist Church.

"Adventist seminar addresses national domestic violence in Bangladesh," by Teresa Costello, reports on church efforts to curb family violence. Published August 2015.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Katy Van Arsdale

Katy Van Arsdale
Special Collections Librarian
Tel: 965-6244

Book Search
Search for in
Where is my book!?
Please note that library books on Adventist topics are often available in the main stacks as well as the "Heritage Collection." Heritage books may be used in the library but not checked out, like reference books. If you need help finding anything in the building, just ask at the front desk and a librarian will help find your book. 
Citing Sources
Turabian, Kate.  A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations . 2013.
Access the online Turabian quick guide. 


Chicago manual of style:
Official website Quick Guide
Guide to the Chicago manual from OWL at Purdue

You can browse the table of contents on the Chicago manual of style's official website. To read further, check the library copies, linked below.

The Chicago manual of style, 15th ed.






The Chicago manual of style, 16th ed.
Theology & Religion Databases
Search directly in these databases for articles on religion and theology subjects.

ATLA Religion Index (EBSCO)
Theology and religion. Indexing for 1700 journals, full text for 200 more. 1949-present. Journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.

Ellen G. White Writings
Theology and religion. Search or read all published writings of Ellen G. White, including books, articles, compilations, and manuscripts. Search by topic or keyword.

ProQuest Religion
Theology; includes religion, philosophy, ethics. 300 titles, most full text. 1986-present.

Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index
Theology. Over 40 journal titles published by and/or about the SDA Church. 1972-present.

Try searching here for articles pulled from big, multi-subject databases.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Multi-subject. 4,600 journals full text. Indexing for articles in 8,500 additional journals.

Discovery Search (EBSCO)
Multi-subject. Searches most of the library’s databases simultaneously. Combines dozens of resources including Academic Search Premiere, JSTOR, WorldCat, and CINAHL databases. Includes results from the library catalog.
 
History of the SDA church
What is the church?
The General Conference Office of Archives, Records, and Statistics (ASTR) rounds up all the basic information about Adventism as a handy guide for researchers. They discuss the history of the name "Adventist," church statistics over the years, information about every GC President, and more. See more statistics at the official GC website.

The 28 Fundamental Beliefs as published by the church on www.adventist.org. 

How was it established?

The library has many books about the establishment of Adventism. These are just a few examples.
  1. Adventism in America : a history. Edited by Gary Land.
  2. A brief history of Seventh-Day Adventists. By George R. Knight.
  3. Light bearers to the remnant : a denominational history textbook for Seventh-Day Adventist college classes. By R. W. Schwarz ; prepared by the Department of Education, General Conference of Seventh-Day Adventists. 
  4. Origin and history of Seventh-Day Adventists. By Arthur Spalding.
  5. On the margins of empires : a history of Seventh-day Adventists. By Ciro Sepulveda.
  6. The Seventh-Day Adventists : a history. By Anne Devereaux Jordan.
  7. Who are the Seventh-day Adventists? : (a brief look at their history, beliefs, people, church, and mission). By John Seaman.

For more options, browse this list of library books on the topic of Adventist History. Seventh-Day Adventists -- History.

The General Conference Office of ASTR has a "This Week in Adventist History" YouTube channel that gives quick 3-5 minute snippets of church history. 

"Tell the World" is a 6-part miniseries/film created by the church to tell the story of its founding. The full film is on YouTube, courtesy of the General Conference. Spectrum interviewed the filmmakers

"Our Roots and Mission," by William G. Johnsson. This Adventist Review article gives a quick overview of both church history and the history of the Review, which has been the main publication of Adventism for years. 

How do people experience Adventism today?
Several people have written about what it means to be Adventist and how the church shapes identity. Magazines like Ministry and Spectrum have written about identity, as has the Adventist Theological Society and some Adventists on their personal blogs

In 2015 the L.A. Times reported on how Loma Linda is a Blue Zone where the SDA lifestyle helps many people live past 100.