Introduction
Use the sources listed here to get started on research in Nursing & Allied Health.  When you need more help, ask for a reference librarian at the front desk in the library or contact the subject specialist, Patrick Benner

The second box below, "All Items by Source", lists electronic resources specifically for Nurisng & Allied Health.
Best Places To Start
Research Articles Medications and Natural Remedies Encyclopedias
  •   Emphasis on medical conditions and diseases.
​See more
All Items by Source

Databases

AHFS Consumer Medication Information (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services.
  • 1,500 drug information reports updated monthly.
  • Produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Nutrition, Exercise Science.
  • 180 journals plus hundreds of other documents.
  • 1990-present: full text, 1984-1989: indexed.
  • Information on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

BioMed Central Some full text available
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Nutrition, Engineering, Technology.
  • 300 peer-reviewed open access journals.

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Emergency Services, Exercise Science, Nutrition.
  • 600 full-text journal titles, indexing to an additional 3,000.
  • 1981-present.
  • Access also provided to related books, dissertations, proceedings, standards of practice, multi-media content.

Drugs.com: Drug Information Online Some full text available
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services.
  • Drug and related health information provided by articles and online medical reference works.
  • Documents from Harvard Health Publications, Mayo Clinic, and Stedman's Medical Dictionary are included.

Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services, Nutrition.
  • Hundreds of health reference books, encyclopedias, medical images, videos, pamphlets, and articles.
  • Includes full-text access to 80 popular health magazines.

Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services, Nutrition.
  • 550 journals full text, an additional 850 journals indexed.
  • Includes full text of Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.

Human Anatomy Interactive (Gale) Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains video
  • Biolory, Nursing, Exercise Science.
  • An innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research.
  • Delve deep into concepts with tools to zoom, rotate, and explore models.
  • Experience guided interactive lessons aligned with course curriculum.
  • View relevant reference content from Gale for further study and research.
  • Use self-assessments to ensure concept comprehension.
  • Access resources on their computer at any time through multiple web browsers.

Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Biology, Emergency Services, Exercise Science, Nutrition, Chemistry, Psychology, Social Work.
  • 1,500 journals full text, 5,000 journals indexed.
  • 1965-present: full text, 1949-present: indexed.
  • Topics include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and allied health professions.

Natural Medicines Research Collaboration Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Nutrition, Exercise Science, Emergency Services.
  • Covers complementary and alternative medicine, including dietary supplements and integrative therapies.

Ovid Nursing Collection II Restricted Resource Some full text available
18 Titles in the collection include:
  • American Journal of Nursing (AJN) 1996-present
  • Computer, Infomatics, Nursing (CIN) 2001-present
  • CIN Plus 2001-2002
  • Computers in Nursing 1996-2002
  • Home Healthcare Now 2015-present
  • Home Healthcare Nurse 2000-2014 (name changed to above)
  • Journal of Christian Nursing 1984-present
  • Journal of Nursing Administration 1996-present
  • Journal of Perinatal & Neonatal Nursing 1999-present
  • American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing (MCN) 1996-present
  • Med/Surg Insider Suppliment 2009
  • Men in Nursing 2006-2008
  • Nurse Educator 1996-present
  • Nursing 2002-present
  • Nursing Administration Quarterly 1999-present
  • Nursing Management 2001-present
  • Nursing Research 1996-present
  • Nutrition Today 2000-present

ProQuest Family Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Nutrition, Emergency Services, Exercise Science.
  • Journals included range from professional titles suchs as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine to popular journals and news sources.
  • Access is provided to over 500 titles.

ProQuest Health & Medical Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Nutrition, Emergency Services, Exercise Science.
  • 1,300 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 200.
  • Articles are included from clinical research journals as well as consumer and health administration journals.

ProQuest Health Management Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Business.
  • 800 journals, 4,500 dissertations and theses.
  • Content includes topics such as hospitals, medical insurance, business management, ethics, and healthcare personnel.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Emergency Services, Exercise Science, Nutrition.
  • 715 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 125.
  • 12,000 full-text dissertations.

PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
  • Biology, Nursing, Exercise Science, Chemistry, Environmental Studies, Nutrition, Psychology, Social Work.
  • 27 million citations.
  • Full text of these articles can be found in other library databases or through interlibrary loan.

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Physical sciences, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences.
  • Full-text scientific database with millions of documents.
  • Journal articles from nearly 4000 open access journals.
  • Book chapters from more than 35,000 books.

Dictionaries

Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary (Gale) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services, Nutrition.
  • Authoritative definitions of medical terms.

Encyclopedias

AccessScience (McGraw Hill) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • Aviation, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Mathematics, Nursing, Physics.
  • Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology included in results.
  • Images, videos, biographies, current research, articles.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Patrick Benner

Patrick Benner
Director & Systems Librarian
Tel: 965-6641

Discovery Search
Do a combined search of all the library databases and the library catalog.

advanced search
Book Search
Search for in
Borrowing Books from Other Libraries

Books, media, and articles not available at the PUC Library may be borrowed from other libraries at no charge. You will be notified when the items arrive.

 
  • LINK+

For the fastest service, check the LINK+ catalog first. This service provides quick access to California libraries that share a combined collection of about four million unique titles (books and media). Items will arrive in 3-4 days.

 

  • INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Items not available through LINK+ can still be requested from another library. Non-LINK+ requests take about 7-10 days to arrive.  Articles usually arrive in 1-2 days.


If you are using  and find an item you want to borrow, select the "Borrow from another library" option and complete the form.

If you are using Discovery Search (EBSCO) and find an article not available online, select the “Request” option and complete the form.


If you're not sure where to start, visit the Interlibrary Loan page for more information.