What this guide is about
Use this guide as an entry point to discover the library's primary and secondary sources on China, Japan, and Korea. See the country-by-country sections below for suggested sources and search strategies. Also see the section about online exhibits for links to some sample Flikr albums.



This guide does not list everything that is available in the library. As you research, you will need to search the catalog or talk to a librarian to continue to gather sources for your project. The library's collections are particularly strong in several areas, which may help you choose a topic.

 
  1. Christian and Seventh-day Adventist missions in Asia.
  2. Traditional religions in China, Japan, and Korea.
  3. Day to day life and customs, particularly as viewed from a Western perspective, 1880s-present.
  4. History of China, Japan, and Korea as nations and peoples, particularly as viewed from a Western perspective, 1880s-present.
  5. Historic maps of Asia and surrounding areas, particularly as viewed from a Western perspective, 1880s-present.
  6. Art and architecture.
  7. Travel literature.
  8. Politics, warfare, and foreign policy, particularly US-Asian relations.
​Image credit: Japanese woodblock printing by Hiroshi Yoshida. THE SANSEIDO COMPANY, LTD. TOKYO & OSAKA (1939)
China
Available at PUC: Use keywords to search the library catalog or scroll through lists of books by subject. The links below will open a list of search results showing all the library's books about China published between 1858 and 1970.

Books about China on a variety of topics, published 1858-1970.

To get you started, here is a partial list of books available on the suggested research topics. Books are arranged in rough chronological order.

Christian and Seventh-day Adventist missions.
John Kenneth Mackenzie, medical missionary to China. By Mrs. N. Bryson. This book, published in 1891, recounts the life story of a Christian missionary in the nineteenth century.

The sister martyrs of Ku Cheng : memoir and letters of Eleanor and Elizabeth Saunders, "Nellie" and "Topsy," of Melbourne. By D.M. Berry. Published in 1897, this book contains reprints of correspondence between missionaries who died in China.

Pastor Hsi (of North China): one of China's Christians. By Mrs. Howard Taylor. This is an illustrated book from 1903 that outlines the life and work of a Chinese Christian missionary.

New forces in old China : an inevitable awakening. By Arthur Judson Brown. Brown looks at the effect of politics and the current political climate in 1907 and how these forces impact Christian mission work. 

The emergency in China. By F. L. Hawks Pott. This book was written for the Missionary education movement of the United States and Canada in 1913, to encourage young missionaries to go to China.

The Christian occupation of China; a general survey of the numerical strength and geographical distribution of the Christian forces in China, made by the Special committee on survey and occupation, China continuation committee, 1918-1921. This volume provides a comprehensive overview of the state of Christianity's permeation of China, as of 1918-1921. The report was commissioned by the China Continuation Committee in Shanghai.

With our missionaries in China. By Mrs. Emma Anderson. Anderson reports on the work of Adventist missionaries in China up to the "present day," 1920.
 
Traditional religion.
The dragon, image, and demon; or, The three religions of China; Confucianism, Buddhism and Taoism, giving an account of the mythology, idolatry, and demonolatry of the Chinese. By Rev. Hampden C. De Bose. Published in 1887, this book gives a very Western, Christian perspective on the traditional religions of the Chinese.

The Sacred books of China : The text of Taoism. Translated by James Legge. This is one of several volumes available at the library that are translations of Chinese religious texts, completed by James Legge in the 1890s. 


The three religions of China; lectures delivered at Oxford. By W. E. Soothill. Soothill delivered these lectures in 1951.

Day to day life and customs.
Village life in China; a study in sociology, by Arthur H. Smith. This is a sociological look at village life in China, as it was in the 1890s.

 Letters from China, with particular reference to the empress dowager and the women of China, by Sarah Pike Conger (Mrs. E. H. Conger) with eighty illustrations from photographs and a map. Published in 1909, this book reprints original letters between women in China during the time of the Boxer Rebellion.

Ten weeks with Chinese bandits, by Harvey J. Howard... with illustrations from sketches and photographs by the author. An westerner tells the story of his time with a group of lawbreakers in the 1920s.

Peking, a social survey conducted under the auspices of the Princeton University Center in China and the Peking Young Men's Christian Association. By Sidney D. Gamble, M.A., assisted by John Stewart Burgess, M.A. Foreword by G. Sherwood Eddy. This report of life in Beijing (Peking at the time) was published in 1921.

Two years in the Forbidden city, by the Princess Der Ling, first lady in waiting to the Empress Dowager, illustrated from photographs. Here is an inside look at the courts of Cixi, Empress Dowager, who died in 1908. The book was published in 1924.


China's gentry; essays in rural-urban relations. Rev. & ed. by Margaret Park Redfield, with six life-histories of Chinese gentry families collected by Yung-teh Chow, and an introd. by Robert Redfield. Social conditions, families, and an overview of rural Chinese life are all explored by the author of this 1953 publication.

History of China.
China, by Demetrius Charles Boulger; with a supplementary chapter of recent events, by Mayo W. Hazeltine. Published in 1900, this history book captures the "recent" events of the turn of the twentieth century. 

The formation of the Chinese people; an anthropological inquiry. By Chi Li. Harvard University Press published this anthropological history of China in 1928.

Modern Chinese history; selected readings; a collection of extracts from various sources chosen to illustrate some of the chief phases of China's international relations during the past hundred years. By Harley Farnsworth MacNair. This book was published in Shanghai in 1933. 

My country and my people. By Yutang Lin. This 1935 book written by a Chinese author about Chinese history and culture provides a counterpoint to the many western-authored histories that came before. 

Historic maps.
China, by Harold E. Gorst; with a map and twenty-eight illustrations. Although this book includes a map and illustrations from 1899, it is also a history of China.

Atlas of the Chinese empire containing separate maps of the eighteen provinces of China proper on the scale of 1:3,000,000 and of the four great dependencies on the scale of 1:7,500,000, together with an index to all the names on the maps. China, as it was in 1908, is depicted in this atlas.

Land of the 500 million; a geography of China. By George Cressey. This book contains maps and travel descriptions for China in the 1950s. 
 
Art and architecture.
Peking the beautiful; comprising seventy photographic studies of the celebrated monuments of China's northern capital and its environs, complete with descriptive and historical notes. By Herbert Clarence White. This is a rare book of artistic photographs of Beijing (Peking at the time), created by Herbert White, son of Ellen White. He signed the library's copy. White and his twin brother took this collection of photographs and many others on tour and displayed them throughout the 1920s and 1930s, making a name for themselves as artists and experts on China. See also the exhibition catalog, titled China

China. By J. Henry White and Herbert C. White. This is a 1932 exhibit catalog describing the "White Brothers' China Program," a traveling photographic gallery and lecture series. A quote reads, "These pictures are being exhibited in America at this time under the auspices of the China Institute in America, New York City" (p. 3). See also Herbert C. White's photo book of Peking the Beautiful

China, as she is, a comprehensive album 1934. By Liang You Shangai. This illustrated volume introduces the reader to how China looked, circa 1934.
 
Travel literature.
Camps and trails in China; a narrative of exploration, adventure, and sport in little-known China. By Roy Chapman Andrews and Yvette Borup Andrews. This travel narrative reports the findings of the Asiatic Zoölogical Expedition, 1916-1917.

The travelers' handbook for China (including Hongkong). By Carl Crow; with nine maps and plans and numerous illustrations. This is a travel guidebook to China, published in 1920.

In unknown China; a record of the observations, adventures and experiences of a pioneer missionary during a prolonged sojourn amongst the wild and unknown Nosu tribe of western China. A missionary to the Yi people records his travels and experiences in this illustrated book from 1921.

Politics, warfare, and foreign policy, particularly US-Chinese relations.
China in transformation. By Archibald R. Colquhoun. Colquhoun's book covers commerce, economics, and foreign relations at the turn of the century. This book was published in 1898.

China in convulsion. By Arthur H. Smith. This multi-volume history of the Boxer Rebellion was published in 1901, shortly after the events took place.

Commercial handbook of China. By Julean Arnold, commercial attaché. This is the first of several volumes published by the United States Bureau of Foreign and Domestic Commerce on Chinese commerce in 1919 and before.

The tinder box of Asia. By George E. Sokolsky. Sokolsky's book looks at events in Manchuria in the 1920s-1930s.

Eighty-eight years of commercial progress ruined; Shanghai shelled and bombed; a collection of editorials and reports written by impartial foreign observers on the local war situation for leading American and British papers including "The Shanghai." Published in 1932, this book contains reprints of newspapers and reports of the time.


News is my job; a correspondent in war-torn China. By Edna Lee Booker. These are the memoirs of a journalist on the ground in China, published in 1940. 

A letter from Madame Chiang Kai-shek to boys and girls across the ocean. This is a piece of published propaganda created by the China information publishing company out of Chungking in 1940. The library has several other pieces of propaganda authored by Madame Chiang Kai-shek and her husband.

The Stilwell papers, arr. and ed. by Theodore H. White. The personal papers of Joseph Warren Stilwell, U.S. General in China during World War II, are published in this volume.
Japan
Available at PUC: Use keywords to search the library catalog or scroll through lists of books by subject. The link below will open a list of search results showing all the library's books about Japan published between 1880 and 1955.

Books about Japan on a variety of topics, published 1880-1955.

To get you started, here is a partial list of books available on the suggested research topics. Books are arranged in rough chronological order.

Christian and Seventh-day Adventist missions.
A maker of New Japan, Joseph Hardy Neesima. By J. D. Davis. This biography was first published in 1890 under title: A sketch of the life of Rev. Joseph Hardy Nessima. 

Life and letters of Joseph Hardy Neesima. By Arthur Sherburne Hardy. Published in 1891, this biography records the experiences of a Christian missionary to Japan (years active, 1840-1890).


A maker of the new Orient, Samuel Robbins Brown, pioneer educator in China, America, and Japan, the story of his life and work. By William Elliot Griffis. Brown performed mission work in Asia and the Americas, focusing on education. He died in 1880, and this book was published in 1902.

Evolution of the Japanese : a study of their characteristics in relation to the principles of social and psychic development. By Sidney L. Gulick. This 1905 handbook for young missionaries looks at the characteristics of Japanese society from a Christian and proselytizing perspective.


The Benjamin Hoffman Collection. Pacific Union College Archives & Special Collections, PUC.MSS.017. This collection contains correspondence, photographs, and diaries from 1905-1970, kept by Benjamin P. Hoffman, head of the PUC Religion Department from 1927-1937. In 1912, Hoffman and his wife, Florence Guthrie Hoffman, traveled to Japan where he served as superintendent of the Far East or Japan Union Mission until 1921.

The Japan Christian Yearbook.  Published by the Christian Literature Society in 1932, this book charts the rise of Christianity in Japan and surrounding countries.

Traditional religion.
The development of religion in Japan. By George William Knox. This 1907 publication is part of a lecture series on the rise of religion around the world.

The faith of Japan. By Tasuku Harada. The preface of this 1914 book reads "The following chapters, with the exception of the eighth, were delivered [at Hartford Theological Seminary] as 'Lamson lectures [on the history of world religions]' in autumn of 1910." Japanese religion is explained for a Western audience.
 

Day to day life and customs.
Japanese girls and women. By Alice Mabel Bacon. Published in 1902 and authored by a white Western woman, this book takes an interesting perspective on the social customs, behavior, and lives of women in Japan. 

Japanese life in town and country. By George William Knox. The subtitle of this 1904 book is "Our Asiatic Neighbors," and it takes this sort of tone toward describing the Japanese around the turn of the century.

A daughter of the Samurai, by Etsu Inagaki Sugimoto ... with an introduction by Christopher Morley. How a daughter of feudal Japan, living hundreds of years in one generation, became a modern American. Illustrations by Tekisui Ishii. Sugimoto's memoir of her life growing up in Japan was first published in 1926. Sugimoto moved to the United States as an adult, and she compares and contrasts her life in the East and West as well as life before and after the Meiji Restoration.

 
History of Japan.
Townsend Harris, first American envoy in Japan. By William Elliot Griffis. Published in 1895. In addition to historical context to Townsend Harris's time in Japan, this book also reprints portions of the journal he kept while in the country.

History of the empire of Japan. Compiled and translated for the Imperial Japanese Commission of the World's Columbian Exposition, Chicago, U.S.A., 1893. This history of Japan was prepared by the Dai Nippon Tosho Kabushiki Kwaisha, by order of the Department of Education for the 1893 Chicago World's Fair.


Japan, by Walter Dickson: with two supplementary chapters of recent events, by Mayo W. Hazeltine. This book covers Japanese politics, government, and history up to its publication date of 1898.

Fifty years of new Japan (Kaikoku goj¯unen shi) comp. By Count Shigénobu Okuma... English version ed. by Marcus B. Huish. This two-volume history, published in 1909, focuses on the rapid modernization and Westernization of Japan at the end of the nineteenth century. See Fordham University's excerpt for more.

A political history of Japan during the Meiji era, 1867-1912. By Walter Wallace McLaren. In this 1916 publication, McLaren explores the history of the Meiji period only four short years after its end.

Historic maps.
Isles of gold : antique maps of Japan. By Hugh Cortazzi. This large illustrated text reprints original maps of Japan.

Art and architecture.
Impressions of Japanese architecture and the allied arts. By Ralph Adams Cram. This text on art and architecture was published in 1930.

Japanese sculpture, by Seiroku Noma (translated by M. G. Mori). This illustrated text was first published in Tokyo in 1939 by the Board of Tourist Industry, Japanese Government Railways.

Japanese fine arts. By Sagara Tokuzō. This book was published in Tokyo in 1949 by the Japan Travel Bureau to introduce Western occupiers to Japanese art. 

Travel literature.
Rambles in Japan, the Land of the rising sun. By H. B. Tristram ... With ... illustrations by Edward Whymper. This illustrated volume describes travels and missions in Japan in the late 1800s. The author, Tristram, was a naturalist.

Things Japanese; being notes on various subjects connected with Japan for the use of travellers and others. By Basil Hall Chamberlain. Chamberlain was born to distinguished English parents in 1850, but he adopted Japan as his home. He taught at Tokyo University beginning in 1886. Chamberlain wrote this handbook for travellers to Japan in 1898 after living in the country for some time.

Roving east and roving west. By E. V. Lucas. In the tradition of other 1920s travel books, Lucas describes Japan, India, and the United States for the would-be visitor.

The lure of Japan. By Shunkichi Akimoto.  This illustrated text for tourists introduces the reader to 1930s Japan.

 
Politics, warfare, and foreign policy, particularly US-Japanese relations.
War between Japan and Russia; the complete story of the desperate struggle between two great nations with dominion over the orient as the tremendous prize describing and picturing the mighty conflict, the hitherto resistless march of Russian force, by Richard Linthicum. This 1904 history of the Sino-Japanese War takes a very fresh look at recent events. The book is illustrated.

The early diplomatic relations between the United States and Japan, 1853-1865. By Payson Jackson Treat. Treat looks back on early nineteenth century US-Japanese foreign relations from his vantage point in 1917.


Modern Japan : its political, military, and industrial organization. By William Montgomery McGovern. McGovern explores the "modern" Japan of 1920 and places it in the context of the world at that time.

National Conference on the Occupied Countries. These two volumes were published in 1949 by the US Government. They outline cultural interactions in countries occupied after World War II.
Korea
Available at PUC: Use keywords to search the library catalog or scroll through lists of books by subject. The link below will open a list of search results showing all the library's books about Korea published between 1904 and 1970.

Books about Korea on a variety of topics, published 1904-1970.

To get you started, here is a partial list of books available on the suggested research topics. Books are arranged in rough chronological order.

Christian and Seventh-day Adventist missions.

The vanguard : a tale of Korea. By James S. Gale. Here is a 1904 look at Christian mission work in Korea, written for and published by the Young People's Missionary Movement out of New York.

The call of Korea, political--social--religious, by Horace G. Underwood, for twenty-three years a missionary in Korea; illustrated from photographs by Cameron Johnson. This is the story of a Christian missionary to Korea who served there in the 1800s. The book was published in 1908.

Korea in transition. By James Scarth Gale. This book, published in New York in 1909 by the Layman's Missionary Movement, discusses the rise of Christianity in Korea.

 
Daybreak in Korea : a tale of transformation in the Far East. By Annie L. A. Baird. In this 1909 book published by the Young People's Missionary Movement of the United States and Canada, Baird writes about social customs and life in Korea from the perspective of Christian mission work. 

The mastery of the Far East; the story of Korea's transformation and Japan's rise to supremacy in the Orient. By Arthur Judson Brown. Published in 1919. This book focuses on the establishment of Christianity in Korea and Japan, in the context of the turn of the twentieth century.


First fruits in Korea; a story of church beginnings in the Far East. By Charles Allen Clark. Published in 1921, this book explores early Christian mission work in Korea.
 
Day to day life and customs.
Glimpses of Korea. By E.J. Urquhart. This illustrated volume introduces social life and customs of Korea in the 1920s and before.

Folklore and customs of Korea. By Hyon-tʻae Kim. Kim wrote this overview of Korean folklore and culture for the Korea Information Service in 1957.
 
History of Korea.
Korea; her history and culture. By the Office of Public Information, Seoul, Korea. Published in 1954, this book presents a Korean perspective on Korean history.

Korea: its land, people, and culture of all ages. By Hakwon-sa Seoul. This history was written in 1960 by a Korean author.

Art and architecture.
Masterpieces of Korean art; an exhibition under the auspices of the Government of the Republic of Korea. This 1957 book reports on an art exhibition that was brought to U.S. under the sponsorship of eight leading museums where it was shown.

The art of ancient Korea. Photos by W. Forman. Text by J. Barinka. [Translated by Iris Urwin] This book looks at ancient Korean art. It was published in 1962. 

Travel literature.
Korea and her neighbours : a narrative of travel, with an account of the vicissitudes and position of the country. By Mrs. Bishop (Isabella Bird). This two-volume set of travel writing chronicles the experiences of a western white woman in Korea in 1905. 

Fifteen years among the top-knots : or, Life in Korea. By L. H. Underwood, : With introduction by Frank F. Ellinwood. This book could be considered documentation of travels or the story of missionwork, as L.H. Underwood was both a visitor and a missionary to Korea in the late 1800s-early 1900s. He published this book in 1908.
 
Politics, warfare, and foreign policy, particularly US-Korean relations.
The truth about Korea. By Carlton Kendall. This volume contains official documents and proclamations of the provisional government for the new republic of Korea. The San Francisco-based Korean National Association commissioned this book on "the Eastern Question" in 1919.


Korea - my country. By Yung Tai Pyun. Pyun writes primarily about Korean politics and government between 1948 and 1954.

U.S. Marine operations in Korea, 1950-1953. By the U.S. Marine Corps. Published in 1955, this is a multi-volume regimental history of U.S. Military operations during the Korean War.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Katy Van Arsdale

Katy Van Arsdale
Special Collections Librarian
Tel: 965-6244

Book Search
Search for in
Online exhibits
Visit PUC's Flikr page to see all of our albums, or go directly to Lily Hufmann's exhibit about Joe Maniscalco

Here is the Alaska Digitization Project exhibit.

And this is the "Banned and Recovered" online exhibit.
Primary sources: multiple countries
This is a partial list of books available on the interaction between Asian countries. This list is arranged in a rough chronological order.

The flowery kingdom and the land of the mikado; or, China, Japan, and Corea; containing their complete history down to the present time... By Henry Davenport Northrop...with an introduction by Hon. John Russell Young.  Northrop attempts a complete history of Japan, Korea, and China, and his descriptions take a decidedly Western perspective of the East. The history comes up to the "present day," and the Sino-Japanese War of 1894-1895.

The awakening of the East; Siberia - Japan - China, by Pierre Leroy-Beaulieu. With a preface by Henry Norman. Originally published in French in 1900, this book covers "the people and politics" of "the real Japan," according to the authors.


China, Japan, and the islands of the Pacific, by Eva Tappan.  Published in 1914, this book describes daily life in China, Japan, and the Pacific Islands.

Our Eastern question; America's contact with the Orient and the trend of relations with China and Japan, by Thomas F. Millard ... illustrated with photographs and maps. Published in 1916, this book by Millard discusses US Foreign relations with Asian countries.

Contemporary politics in the Far East, by Stanley K. Hornbeck. Published in 1916, Hornbeck's book discusses foreign relations and politics between the US, China, and Japan.

The mastery of the Far East; the story of Korea's transformation and Japan's rise to supremacy in the Orient. By Arthur Judson Brown. This book, written in 1919, covers "the Eastern Question" as well as mission work in both Korea and Japan.

Japan's special position in Manchuria; its assertion, legal interpretation and present meaning, by C. Walter Young. Young's first volume on Japan's jurisdiction and international legal position in Manchuria before 1931.

Far Eastern international relations, by Hosea Ballou Morse and Harley Farnsworth MacNair. This 1931 look at foreign relations focuses on US interactions with Japan and China.

One year of the Japan-China undeclared war and the attitude of the powers, by Edward Bing-Shuey Lee with forewords by H. E. Sun Fo ... H. E. Hu Han-Min. Published 1933. This book gives a brief look at the events in Manchuria.

Manchoukuo, child of conflict, by K. K. Kawakami. From the 1933 preface, "Sequel to ... [the author's] Japan speaks on the Sino-Japanese crisis." The book covers events in Manchuria.

North to the Orient, by Anne Morrow Lindbergh; with maps by Charles A. Lindbergh. This 1935 book by Anne Lindbergh traces the path she and her famous aviator husband took as they flew from Washington, D.C. to Japan and China in 1931. For more information, see Lindbergh's website.

Why the Fighting in Shanghai, by Nihon Gaiji KyŻokai. A 1937 history of the Sino-Japanese conflict in Shanghai, published by The Foreign Affairs Association of Japan, Tokyo.

The Sino-Japanese crisis, 1937; first comprehensive, authentic, factual statement, with official American and Japanese documents. This publication by the Japanese chamber of commerce of New York provides reprints of original documents and background of the events of 1937.

Japanese expansion on the Asiatic continent; a study in the history of Japan with special reference to her international relations with China, Korea, and Russia, by Yoshi S. Kuno. This two-volume history was published in 1937.
Citing Sources
Turabian, Kate.  A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations . 2013.
Access the online Turabian quick guide. 


Chicago manual of style:
Official website Quick Guide
Guide to the Chicago manual from OWL at Purdue

You can browse the table of contents on the Chicago manual of style's official website. To read further, check the library copies, linked below.

The Chicago manual of style, 15th ed.






The Chicago manual of style, 16th ed.