Books and ebooks
Available at PUC: Use keywords to search the library catalog or scroll through lists of books by subject. Most of the links below will open a list of narrower topics. Clicking a narrower topic will open a list of books you can check out or read full text online.

Japan -- Civilization.
Japan -- Colonies -- History.
Japan -- Economic conditions -- 1945-
Japan -- Foreign relations.
Japan -- Foreign relations -- China.
Japan -- Foreign relations -- Korea.
Japan -- History -- 1868-
Japan -- Social conditions.
Missions -- Japan.
Nationalism -- Japan.
Sino-Japanese War, 1937-1945

Available online: Search digital libraries.
HathiTrust Digital Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Contains scanned historical works, some full text.
Google Books Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Scanned books and magazines, some full text. 
Open Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Searchable database of books, a few full text, with links to WorldCat to borrow physical copies.

Primary Sources: Government Documents
Explore digitized collections about Japan from libraries, archives, and museums. Collections are listed here by subject or format.

Government documents (Japan)
The Constitution of Japan (1946). Translated into English, full-text online.

Japanese Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR). JACAR is a digital database of documents relating to Japan's historical relations in Asia and elsewhere. This site provides access to official documents of the Japanese Cabinet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as the Army and Navy. JACAR's archives showcase the original records, including full images of the documents.

The National Diet Library. The NDL is like Japan's equivalent to the Library of Congress. In their digital collections you will find newspapers, historical recordings, official documents, military records, and more. Some keyword searching in English is available, and collections are also arranged by subject.

Government documents (United States)
American Foreign Policy – Hiroshima. This digital collection of primary sources contains correspondence and official documentation of the decision to drop the atomic bomb. The documents are made available by Mount Holyoke College. 

JARDA: Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives. Personal and official photographs, letters and diaries, transcribed oral histories, art, and more show the experiences of individuals affected by forced relocation.

NARA Japanese American Internment and Relocation Records. War Relocation Authority (WRA) Records available online contain personal descriptive information on all individuals who were evacuated from their homes and relocated to one of 10 relocation centers during World War II.

NARA Inter-agency Working Group on Japanese War Crimes. Downloadable PDF titled "Select Documents on Japanese War Crimes and Japanese Biological Warfare, 1934-2006 (23.2 MB)" contains digital copies of several thousand documents on Japanese war crimes & Japanese biological warfare. 

Pearl Harbor Attack Documents, 1941. Available digitized documents include correspondence between the Japanese Government and the U.S. State Department about Pearl Harbor. 

U.S. State Department Foreign Relations policy documentation. Digitized documents are arranged in volumes by year and geographic location with available keyword search. 

Presidential and Imperial documents
Emperor Hirohito, Accepting the Potsdam Declaration, Radio Broadcast. Transmitted by Domei and Recorded by the Federal Communications Commission, 14 August 1945. Transcript in English.

Franklin Delano Roosevelt's Presidential papers. To navigate this page, try a ctrl-F search for “Japan” and then select documents to read. Boxes 3, 22, 42, 43, 59, and 100 contain files about Japan. All PDFs of digitized documents are keyword searchable by ctrl-F. 

Harry Truman Presidential papers. Documents are arranged by topic.
Primary Sources: Personal Experiences
Personal papers and memoirs
Doing Photography and Social Research in the Allied Occupation of Japan, 1948-1951: A Personal and Professional Memoir by John W. Bennett. Oklahoma State University's website provides archival documents and photographs by John Bennett, who served in the Occupation. 

Excerpts from diaries and papers relating to the atomic bombing of Japan. The collection includes the diaries of US Secretary of War, Harry Stimson (1944-1945) and President Harry Truman.

Joseph Berry Keenan Papers, 1942-1947. This collection comprised of manuscript materials and photographs offers researchers invaluable insight into the Japanese War Crimes Trial—one of the most important trials of the twentieth century.

Mary McMillan Papers, 1936-1997: Digitized diaries of an American Missionary to Japan before and after WWII. The collection contains 43 journals maintained by McMillan during her time in Hiroshima and her retirement, documenting in great detail her daily life and work as well as her travels throughout East Asia. She also noted her thoughts and concerns about world events and her peace activism. Many entries describe visits by her students and friends in Japan and provide a revealing look at Japanese social life and customs. The journals are arranged chronologically.

MIT Visualizing Cultures. This is a collection of digitized images and primary documents about China and Japan, arranged by topic with introductory essays to provide background and context. Examples of topics: The Opium War from the Japanese perspective, Admiral Perry’s landing in Japan, the Sino-Japanese War, the Russo-Japanese War, Hiroshima, Westernization in Japan, etc.

Interviews
Average Americans react to Pearl Harbor. Library of Congress. “Man on the Street” interviews performed December 8-10, 1941 and January-February 1942. See “list of recordings.” 

Hiroshima and Nagasaki Remembered. Primary sources available on this memorial site include eye witness accounts of the bombs as well as official U.S. and Japanese documentation. Be sure to see the "Other Online Sources" page for more related digital collections.
Primary Sources: Images
Photographs and artwork 
E.G. Stillman photograph albums of early Japan. The Early Photography of Japan project is a virtual collection of 35 albums containing nearly 2,000 photographs. E.G. Stillman avidly collected photographs and other materials related to Japan. The albums document the early history of commercial photography in Japan and reflect traditional Japanese culture before the dramatic transformation brought about by modernization and Western influence during the Meiji period. 

Etz-Trudell Lantern Slides of Asia. The 500 hand-colored lantern slides in this Fine Arts Library collection were acquired by Universalist minister Roger Frederick Etz (1886-1950); in 1934 he toured Asia and visited their mission in Japan.  Most of the images depict Japanese scenes, such as views of Mount Fuji, lakes or rice paddies; agricultural production, craftsmen and their workshops; and stores and merchandise displays. 

Harvard University’s “Images of Colonialism” Digital Collection. Constituting a visual record of early European contacts with Asia and Africa, Widener Library’s Images of Colonialism Collection is a primary visual resource for historical and socio-cultural studies. Made up largely of late-19th and early-20th century trade cards and illustrated European newspapers, this collection of more than 700 images offers insight into European perspectives on varying aspects of colonial experience by documenting how popular perceptions of Asia and Africa were created and disseminated. 

Japanese Industrial Welfare Association posters, 1920s-1940s. The Industrial Welfare Association (Sangyo Fukuri Kyokai) was established in 1925 by the Bureau of Social Affairs, the Home Ministry, for the promotion of industrial safety. The Ohara Institute owns about 100 posters produced by the association. The posters reflect the civic culture and art style of their era. 

Japanese Postcards from the Museum of Fine Arts Boston’s Leonard A. Lauder Collection. Between 1900 and 1940, Japan was transformed into an international, industrial, and urban society. Postcards—both a fresh form of visual expression and an important means of advertising—reveal much about the dramatically changing values of Japanese society at the time. 

The National Diet Library "Tokyo in Photographs" collection. This collection covers the Meiji and Taisho Eras and provides photographs with original titles and descriptions (major dates covered, 1898-1911).

The Nagasaki University Library Collection. The NUL contains a large collection of old photographs, approximately 7,000, taken all over Japan from the Bakumatsu through to the Meiji period.

Prange Digital Children's Book Collection. The Gordon W. Prange Collection contains nearly 8,000 children's book titles published in Japan between 1945 and 1949, including 1,608 picture book (ehon) titles, 2,069 comic book (manga) titles and 4,275 story book (yomimono) titles. All of the picture books and a majority of the comic books are available here. 

Shiseido cosmetics company archive. Browse digitized images of posters, storefronts, and advertisements (1875-1960). The influence of Western ideals is present in the design and style of Shiseido's branding. 


Maps
International Research Center for Japanese Studies Map Database. The website is in Japanese, so use your browser to translate. Browse maps by different categories, including by year (available dates approx. 1100-2000s).

Japanese Historical Maps at UC Berkeley. The Japanese Historical Map Collection contains about 2,300 early maps of Japan and the World.

Kyoto University Library Map Collection. The website is in Japanese, so use your browser to translate. The collection includes historic maps of Japan and the world.
Primary Sources: News
News
ABI-Inform Complete (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Use this database to search full text newspaper and magazine articles from 1911 to the present. Topics tend to be economic or business-related.

Chronicling America Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
This Library of Congress site offers access to American newspaper articles about the Russo-Japanese War, among other topics. Available dates are 1836-1922.

C-SPAN provides a keyword searchable online library of newsreels up to the present day.  


LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Use this database to access Japan Times. Available dates are 01/01/1998-present.

Newspaper Source (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, Journalism, Communication, Film & Television, History. 40 full-text U.S. and international newspapers, selective full text for 400 regional newspapers. Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts.


The New York Times
Searchable full text archives available after creating an account.

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) Restricted Resource Resource contains video  
This database provides full runs of many international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Key collections include Nippon News. Produced from 1929 through the early post-war period, these films provide a unique—and until now largely neglected—resource that will give scholars real insight into how people learned about and lived through the events that occurred during this period of history. Keyword searching is available, as well as newsreels organized by subject and historical event.
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Katy Van Arsdale

Katy Van Arsdale
Special Collections Librarian
Tel: 965-6244

Citing Sources
Turabian, Kate.  A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations . 2013.

Chicago manual of style:
Official website Quick Guide
Guide to the Chicago manual from OWL at Purdue

You can browse the table of contents on the Chicago manual of style's official website. To read further, check the library copies, linked below.

The Chicago manual of style, 15th ed.




The Chicago manual of style, 16th ed.
Research FAQs
Links to common research questions and related guides.

How to Select a Research Topic 
Evaluating Resources (from OWL at Purdue)
Avoiding Plagiarism: Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing (from OWL at Purdue)