What this guide is about
This guide contains links to primary source documents and library books (that provide scholarly material as well as printed primary sources) on topics related to HIST 358 Recent America: 1945-Present.


If your topic is not represented here or you need help finding more, you can call your librarian at x6244 or email kvanarsdale@puc.edu. 
For information about oral histories, visit the Oral History Guide.
Primary Sources: Government Documents
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History provides full text online access to documents from the 15th Century on, arranged in chronological order. Click the decade you are interested in studying to find presidential papers, Supreme Court decisions in landmark cases, text of well known speeches, and more. 

The American Presidency Project (APP), non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. The archives contain 118,828 documents and are growing rapidly. The APP, hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara, has been a collaboration between John T. Woolley (UCSB) and Gerhard Peters (Citrus College) since 1999. Select "Documents" in the top navigation bar to begin accessing presidential papers.

Atomic Spies: Ethel and Julius Rosenberg. This CIA site contains declassified documents that provide Agency insights on this post-WWII spy case. Documents cover, among many other topics, US intelligence activities, including FBI-CIA cooperation; USSR intelligence activities; the Rosenberg espionage network's collection against the US atomic energy program; their attempts to protect the network as US authorities closed in on it; their arrest; Soviet propaganda; the Soviet's protest of the Rosenberg's sentencing; and Moscow's reaction to the execution of their spies.

BrillOnline Primary Sources: Cold War Intelligence 1945-1991 Restricted Resource Some full text available
History, Political Science. 2,360 documents. Information once classified Top Secret or higher. Covers the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War.

BrillOnline Primary Sources: U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East 1945-2009 Restricted Resource Some full text available
History, Political Science. 189 reports. Covers the U.S. intelligence community's activities in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. World War II-present. Topics include the 2002-03 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran's nuclear program.

Castro Speech Database. This database includes speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996. All texts are in English. "Castro Speech" is a database containing the full-text translations of speeches, interviews, and press conferences by Fidel Castro, based upon the records of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), a U.S. government agency responsible for monitoring broadcast and print media in countries throughout the world. These records are in the public domain.

Cold War International History Archive from the Woodrow Wilson Center contains transcribed primary sources on the history of the Cold War. Many of the items are from original or compilations from previously inaccessible sources in the former Communist world.

Free Speech Movement Archives at UC Berkeley features images, oral histories, text, and media documenting student protest, civil rights, and political activism.

JFK Presidential Library online exhibit, "1963: The Struggle for Civil Rights." This interactive timeline of the events of 1963 provides access to key documents behind moments in the Civil Rights Struggle, such as the text President Kennedy's April address presented alongside documentation of the public's response to his speech. See also the JFK Library's Oral History collection.

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
History, Political Science. 300 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 400. Covers all branches of the U.S. military and government.

Mount Holyoke College International Politics is a collection of primary source documents about U.S. Foreign Policy compiled by a professor of Internation Politics. The link will lead you to a set of foreign policy subjects, time periods, etc. from which you can access full-text of primary sources.

NASA (National Aeronatics & Space Administration) historical archive contains documents tracing the United States' space endeavors from 1958 to the present. 

National Archives: Martha Griffiths and the Equal Rights Amendment. Explore this set of featured documents that show some key moments from the Equal Rights Amendment, as well as its failure.

National Security Archive. An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.

Naval History and Heritage Command. The digital collections of the US Navy focus on the Vietnam Conflict and can be browsed by subject. Be sure to also check the Oral History section.

ProQuest Military Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Aviation, History, Political Science. 400 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 150. 1990-present, selected titles as far back as 1920. Content covers all government and military branches, as well as international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering.

U.S. State Department Office of the Historian. Visit this site to access digitized volumes of foreign relations documentation arranged by presidential administration.

"When Nixon met Elvis," an online exhibit by the National Archives & Records Administration, which features primary source photographs, oral histories, and documents about the president's famous meeting with a rock star. 
 
Primary Sources: Personal Experience
The 1964 Freedom Summer Digital Collection from the Wisconsin Historical Society provides access to over 40,000 pages of official records of organizations, personal papers of movement leaders, letters, racist propaganda, diaries, images, newsletters and more. Visit "view the collection" to browse and search documents.

The 1967 Newark Civil Disorders from Rutgers School of Law. The hearing transcripts of the Governor's Select Commission on Civil Disorder (Lilley Commission) offer first hand accounts from over a hundred witnesses to the events that have come to be known as the Newark riots or civil disorders. Beginning on the evening of July 14, 1967 and lasting through July 17th, violence in the City of Newark claimed 23 lives and destroyed ten million dollars of property. The collection includes approximately 6,000 pages of hearing transcripts and associated reports.

Baltimore '68: Riots and Rebirth, an online exhibit created by the University of Baltimore, provides hours of oral histories, galleries of photographs, and contextual essays explaining the riots that took place in Baltimore in the days following the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr. 

Dear Professor Einstein: The Emergency Committee of Atomic Scientists in Post-War America, an online exhibit provided by Oregon State University explores the fear of atomic annihilation that permeated the Cold War world, especially the response of scientists. Digitized documents, photographs, advertisements, and more are available to read within the context of the exhibit, and they can also be browsed by topic. 

Eagle Forum, especially the Phyllis Schlafly interview archives. Eagle Forum is a private conservative political organization previously led by Phyllis Schlafly, the most well-known conservative Republican woman of the 20th century. Schlafly passed away in 2016 at the age of 92, but for 70 years she shaped conservative women's response to liberalism, feminism, and especially the Equal Rights Amendment

"Ghosts of the Second Wave" 51 HISTORIC PHOTOGRAPHS OF THE 1977 NATIONAL WOMEN'S CONFERENCE IN HOUSTON, TEXAS. This important collection documents the ratification of the congressionally mandated 1977 Plan of Action--the official voice of American Women adopted by 2000 state delegates and submitted to Congress in March 1978 for the purpose of ensuring equality, reproductive freedom, and an end to discrimination based on sexual preference.


Library of Congress American Memory Project: the American History Collections contain digitized documents, photographs, cartoons, correspondence, and other ephemera from Library of Congress collections on the topic of American History. Use the filter choices on the left hand side of the page to limit your results by format or subject, or browse all 84 available collections.

National Women's History Museum. Study dozens of online exhibits covering women's history topics from the Olympics to African American rights to women who ran for president. 

"Records of Rights," an online exhibit by the National Archives & Records Administration, which features primary source records  documenting the ongoing struggle of Americans to define, attain, and protect their rights (1700s-present).

Smith College Libraries Sophia Smith Collection. This is a comprehensive list of oral histories in the Sophia Smith Collection. It includes individual oral histories; oral histories found within collections of personal papers; and oral history projects. The oral history projects cover such topics as the suffrage, feminist, civil rights and reproductive rights movements; women in social work and medical professions; grassroots activists; Italian immigrants; and women in war.

Social Reform: 1950s-1970s, an online exhibit via Calisphere. From the period of the 1950s through the 1970s, struggles for civil and social rights, equality, and justice swept the United States. In 1965, feelings about racial inequality and economic and social injustice boiled over into widespread violence for the first time in Los Angeles's African American community of Watts. The community's transformation from angry frustration to hopeful growth is just one example of what was taking place in similar neighborhoods across the country during this tumultuous time.

The Vietnam Archive The Vietnam Archive at Texas Tech University collects and preserves the documentary record of the Vietnam War, primarily dealing with personal experience and memories including letters, photographs, diaries, etc. The Vietnam Archive features the Oral History Project as well as a virtual archive containing digital materials. 

 
Primary Sources: Images, Video, & Music
AAEC Editorial Cartoons at the University of Southern Mississippi Library. The Editorial Cartoon Digital Collection contains examples of the work of member artists of the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists (AAEC). With more than 1000 cartoons representing more than 50 cartoonists, the digital collection is still growing. Created primarily in the 1960s and 1970s, the cartoons reflect changes in American social and political attitudes and provide artistic commentary on such topics as the Civil Rights Movement, Watergate, the Vietnam War, government bureaucracy, taxes, and political corruption.

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street)  The Alexander Street: American History database enables research on key themes, events, and historical eras in U.S. History from the colonial period through the 21st Century. A vast collection of documentaries, newsreels, public affairs videos, and archival footage allows students and researchers to compare viewpoints and get personal and expert accounts on key topics such as the Cold War, the Civil Rights movement, and the Vietnam War-and people--presidents, key leaders and activists. Search by keyword or browse by discipline (subject).

Ad*Access from Duke University Libraries features over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.  This collection of advertising media can be searched by date, to narrow results to post-war advertisements. 

Ad Views from Duke University Libraries provides access to thousands of television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s.

African Activist Archive Project from Michigan State University is preserving and making available online the records of African American peoples' activism against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s. The website includes a growing online archive of historical materials including pamphlets, newsletters, leaflets, buttons, posters, T-shirts, photographs, and audio and video recordings; personal remembrances and interviews with activists; and an international directory of collections deposited in libraries and archives.

African American Oral History Collection at the University of Louisville Libraries contains interviews conducted in order to document the many aspects of life in Louisville (prior to the 1970s), particularly as experienced by African Americans. Businessmen, educators, politicians, doctors, historians, musicians, and other civic leaders of various kinds were interviewed. Interviews range between 30 minutes and 4 hours long. The interviewees talk about parents, upbringing (often outside Louisville), experiences in school, careers, and their achievements. They discuss everyday life as well as the big events in the history they lived. 

Duke University Libraries, keyword search "Women." Scroll through all results from advertisments, photographs, and sheet music at Duke University that has to do with women throughout history. 

National Library of Medicine Digital Images can be searched by subject "United States" and limited by date range to show images and documents from the development of medicine in the late 20th century. 

Protest Music of the 1960s: See this list of artists and song titles arranged by subjects such as "Condemnation of the U.S. Selective Service," "Condemantion of the Vietnam War," and "Criticism of the Justice System." 

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame "Greatest Festival Moments" curated collection contains pages that link to images, documents, audio, and video from festivals from Newport Jazz 1960 to Woodstock 1969 to Coachella 2012 and everything in between. Use the tabs across the top of the page to navigate.

Maps & Atlases 
Atlas of United States foreign relations / by Harry F. Young ; editing and production Colleen Sussman. Published 1983.

Congressional district atlas (districts of the 90th Congress), 1966.

The historical atlas of United States Congressional districts, 1789-1983 / author and editor, Kenneth C. Martis.

Rand McNally atlas of the United States.
Primary Sources: News & Statistics
News
ABI-Inform Complete (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Use this database to search full text newspaper and magazine articles from 1911 to the present. Topics tend to be economic or business-related.

C-Span provides a keyword searchable online library of newsreels up to the present day. 

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, History, Business, Political Science, Journalism, Social Work. 15,000  business, legal, and news sources. Includes The New York Times, The Washington Post. Information for over 80 million companies.

Newspaper Source (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, Journalism, Communication, Film & Television, History. 40 full-text newspapers, selective full text for 400 others. Includes television and radio news transcripts.

Newswires (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, Business, Communication, Journalism. Real-time access to world-wide news reports from Associated Press, United Press, CNN, and more. An index to the content is held for a rolling 30-day archive.

The New York Times.
Searchable full-text archives available after creating an account.

Statistics
The American census handbook / Thomas Jay Kemp.

Congressional district data book (districts of the 88th Congress; a Statistical abstract supplement. Prepared under the direction of Edwin D. Goldfield, chief, Statistical Reports Division.

Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970.

Seventeenth census of the United States: 1950.

This database allows you to search for statistics on any topic by keyword. Statista Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Subject Specialist
Picture: Katy Van Arsdale

Katy Van Arsdale
Special Collections Librarian
Tel: 965-6244

Book Search
Search for in
Books and ebooks
Available at PUC: Use keywords to search the library catalog or scroll through lists of books by subject. Most of the links below will open a list of narrower topics. Clicking a narrower topic will open a list of books you can check out or read full text online.

Carter, Jimmy, 1924-
Cold War.
Communism.
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969.
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006.
Goldwater, Barry M. (Barry Morris), 1909-
Iran-Contra Affair, 1985-1990.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973.
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963.
King, Martin Luther, Jr., 1929-1968.
McCarthy, Joseph, 1908-1957.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994.
Popular culture -- History -- 20th century.
Reagan, Ronald.
Social movements -- United States.
Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972.
United States -- Foreign relations -- 1945-1989.
United States Politics And Government 1945 1989
United States -- Politics and government -- 1969-1974.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1974-1977.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1977-1981.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- United States.
Watergate Affair, 1972-1974.

Books about the 1950s Nineteen fifties
Books about the 1960s Nineteen sixties
Books about the 1970s Nineteen seventies
Books about the 1980s Nineteen eighties
Books about the 1990s Nineteen nineties

Available online: Search digital libraries.
HathiTrust Digital Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Contains scanned historical works, some full text.
Google Books Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Scanned books and magazines, some full text. 
Open Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Searchable database of books, a few full text, with links to WorldCat to borrow physical copies.

Reference Sources
These are examples of general reference sources available through the PUC library. You can search the catalog for more options, especially by combining keywords that describe a time period, historic figure, social movement, or century with keywords like "encyclopedia," "map," "handbook," or "reference."

General reference works
The complete book of U.S. presidents / by William A. DeGregorio.

Congress and the Nation; a review of government and politics in the postwar years.

Nuclear power : a reference handbook / Harry Henderson.

State by state : a panoramic portrait of America / edited by Matt Weiland & Sean Wilsey.

U.S. foreign policy since the cold war / edited by Richard Joseph Stein.

The value of a dollar : prices and incomes in the United States, 1860-2009 / by Scott Derks.

The World almanac and book of facts.

The world almanac of the U.S.A. / Allan Carpenter and Carl Provorse.

Women's rights almanac.

Encyclopedias
Britannica: The Online Encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images ‚Äč

The American Heritage encyclopedia of American history / general editor, John Mack Faragher.

Encyclopedia of American cultural & intellectual history / Mary Kupiec Cayton, Peter W. Williams, editors.

Encyclopedia of American history / edited by Richard B. Morris and Jeffrey B. Morris.

Encyclopedia of the American presidency / Michael A. Genovese.

Encyclopedia of capitalism / Syed B. Hussain, general editor.

Encyclopedia of Cold War espionage, spies, and secret operations [electronic resource] / Richard C.S. Trahair and Robert L. Miller.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Historical encyclopedia of U.S. independent counsel investigations / edited by Gerald S. Greenberg.

Historical encyclopedia of U.S. presidential use of force, 1789-2000 [electronic resource] / edited by Karl R. DeRouen, Jr.


Biographies
Biography in Context (Gale) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Search Collections of Reference eBooks
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available

Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citing Sources
Turabian, Kate.  A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations . 2013.
Access the online Turabian quick guide. 




Chicago manual of style:
Official website Quick Guide
Guide to the Chicago manual from OWL at Purdue

You can browse the table of contents on the Chicago manual of style's official website. To read further, check the library copies, linked below.

The Chicago manual of style, 15th ed.






The Chicago manual of style, 16th ed.
Research FAQs
Links to common research questions and related guides.

How to Select a Research Topic 
Evaluating Resources (from OWL at Purdue)
Avoiding Plagiarism: Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing (from OWL at Purdue)