Sources for Research in Visual Arts
Introduction
Use the sources listed here to get started on research in Visual Arts.  When you need more help, ask for a reference librarian at the front desk in the library or contact the subject specialist, Katy Van Arsdale.

The first box, "All Items by Source", lists electronic resources specifically for Visual Arts.
All Items by Source

Databases

Bibliography of the History of Art: BHA (Getty Museum)
  • Visual Arts. 
  • 1975-2007.
  • Combined with Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) this is produced by The Getty Research Institute to index selected European and American visual arts material.

RĂ©pertoire de la litterature de l'art: RILA (Getty Museum)
  • Visual Arts.
  • 1975-2007.
  • Combined with Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) this is produced by The Getty Research Institute to index selected European and American visual arts material.

Web Sites

Kanopy (Streaming Videos) Resource contains video
  • Multi-subject, Film & Television, Shorts & Feature Length.
  • Stream on web, iOS app, Android app, Apple TV, ChromCast, Roku.
  • 31,000+ titles, including the Criterion Collection.
  • Feature Films, Indie Films, Classics, Documentaries, Instructional Videos, Great Courses.

General Databases
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject. 4,600 journals full text. Indexing for articles in 8,500 additional journals.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, Business, English & Literature, History, World Languages & Cultures. Full-text scholarly journals, books, and documents. 

LexisNexis Academic [now Nexis Uni] Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, History, Business, Political Science, Journalism, Social Work. 15,000  business, legal, and news sources. Includes The New York Times, The Washington Post. Information for over 80 million companies.

ProQuest Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject. Select individual databases for merged search results: 40 databases (mostly full-text), Academic Video Online, and Ebook Central.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Katy Van Arsdale

Katy Van Arsdale
Special Collections Librarian
Tel: 965-6244

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Discovery Search
Do a combined search of all the library databases and the library catalog.
​
advanced search
Book Search
Search for in
Borrowing Books from Other Libraries

Books, media, and articles not available at the PUC Library may be borrowed from other libraries at no charge. You will be notified when the items arrive.

 
  • LINK+

For the fastest service, check the LINK+ catalog first. This service provides quick access to California libraries that share a combined collection of about four million unique titles (books and media). Items will arrive in 3-4 days.

 

  • INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Items not available through LINK+ can still be requested from another library. Non-LINK+ requests take about 7-10 days to arrive.  Articles usually arrive in 1-2 days.


If you are using  and find an item you want to borrow, select the "Borrow from another library" option and complete the form.

If you are using Discovery Search (EBSCO) and find an article not available online, select the “Request” option and complete the form.


If you're not sure where to start, visit the Interlibrary Loan page for more information.