Books
Library Catalog
Find books and ebooks about Religion in the library collection.

LINK+
Find books from a statewide network of libraries and have them delivered by courier.


Search for books in the world's largest book database and have them delivered through the mail.

Want to browse the library shelves? The Library of Congress classification (the call numbers you see on a book's spine) for Religion are -

B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
B - BJ - Philosophy. Psychology
BL, BM, BP, BQ - Religions, Hinduism, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism
BR-BV - Christianity, Bible
BX - Christian Denominations

____________________


Some useful broad subject headings (topic descriptions) within those classifications might look like these. Most of the links below will open a list of narrower topics. Clicking a narrower topic will open a list of books you can check out or read full text online.

Bible -- Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Christian ethics.
Christian college students
Millerite movement.
Philosophy and religion
Religion and poetry.
Religious thought.
Sacred books.
Seventh-Day Adventists
Theology.

(A librarian can help you find and formulate a good subject search for any topic)
Journal Articles and Online Databases
The best way to find journal articles is through the library online databases.

The library provides access to three main specialized databases that focus on religion and religious literature: 
General databases are also useful:
Seventh-day Adventist Resources
These lists are a good starting place, but they are not comprehensive. If you don't find what you need here in 10 minutes or less, ask a librarian for help.

Reference sources

Adventist Directory Unrestricted Resource
This directory lists SDA organizations worldwide.

Fundamental Beliefs of the Seventh-day Adventist Church 
This is a summary of the 28 basic beliefs held by the SDA Church.

Official Statements from the Seventh-day Adventist Church 
These pages document statements and guidelines discussed, approved, and voted on by the church leadership since 1980.

Seventh-day Adventist Obituary Index Restricted Resource
History, Theology. Contains citations for obituaries printed in journals published by the Seventh-day Adventist Church. 1850-present.

Seventh-day Adventist Online Yearbook 
This is a searchable database of all SDA institutions and their employees. Years available online: 1999 to the present. Previous editions dating back to the 1880s are available at the library.

____________________

Periodicals 

Adventist Review
This is the online version of the official publication of the SDA Church.

Andrews University Seminary Studies (AUSS)
A refereed journal, AUSS provides a scholarly venue, within the context of biblical faith, for the presentation of research in the area of religious and biblical studies. AUSS publishes research articles, dissertation abstracts, and book reviews.

Journal of the Adventist Theological Society (JATS)
This peer-reviewed Adventist journal is used by Biblical scholars of all faiths.

Ministry: An International Journal for Pastors
This is the official publication for clergy in the SDA Church.

Mission 360
This publication from Adventist Mission is the official mission publication for the SDA Church.

Perspective Digest
From the Adventist Theological Society, this is a general interest publication which both affirms the fundamental beliefs of the Seventh-day Adventist Church and promotes the Bible as the basis of faith, character, and witness.

Scholarly journals available through the General Conference
On this website you can access digitized copies of Adventist Heritage and the seminary publications from Andrews University and the Asian Adventist seminary.

Signs of the Times
This SDA magazine is designed for outreach.

Spectrum
The Journal of the Association of Adventist Forums presents contemporary issues in the SDA Church and in Christianity.
____________________

Primary sources

Adventist Archives Unrestricted Resource
This is a comprehensive collection of digitized Seventh-day Adventist historical publications, documents, photographs, and periodicals, provided by the General Conference in Washington, D.C.

Loma Linda University Digital Archive
This archive contains collections of archival materials including: Loma Linda University historic publications, photos, and documents; Seventh-day Adventist historic publications, photos, bookmarks, and other documents.


Ellen G. White Estate
The EGW Estate website provides access to photographs of Ellen White and family as well as digitized copies of her writings. Try searching her writings: Ellen G. White Writings Unrestricted Resource .
Subject Specialist
Picture: Katy Van Arsdale

Katy Van Arsdale
Special Collections Librarian
Tel: 965-6244

Citing Sources
Chicago manual of style:
Official website Quick Guide
Guide to the Chicago manual from OWL at Purdue

You can browse the table of contents on the Chicago manual of style's official website. To read further, check the library copies, linked below.

The Chicago manual of style, 15th ed.




The Chicago manual of style, 16th ed.
Research FAQs
Links to common research questions and related guides.

How to Select a Research Topic 
Copyright
Evaluating Resources (from OWL at Purdue)
Avoiding Plagiarism: Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing (from OWL at Purdue)