Sources for Research in Psychology
Introduction
Use the sources listed here to get started on research in Psychology.  When you need more help, ask for a reference librarian at the front desk in the library or contact the subject specialist, Jason St. Clair.

The first box, "All Items by Source", lists electronic resources specifically for Psychology.
All Items by Source

Databases

Education Research Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Education, Psychology, Social Work.
  • 1,400 journals full text, indexing to an additional 2300.
  • 550 full-text books.

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Education, Psychology, Social Work.
  • 1.4 million documents with links to over 300,000 additional full-text items.
  • 1966-present.

Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Biology, Emergency Services, Exercise Science, Nutrition, Chemistry, Psychology, Social Work.
  • 1,500 journals full text, 5,000 journals indexed.
  • 1965-present: full text, 1949-present: indexed.
  • Topics include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and allied health professions.

ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Social Work, Psychology, Political Science.
  • Access to over 600 titles, most available full text.
  • 1981-present.
  • Topics include criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, social work.

ProQuest Psychology Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Psychology, Social Work.
  • 540 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 100.
  • Includes 4000 full-text dissertations.
  • Topics include clinical and social psychology, genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare.

ProQuest Social Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Business, Education, Political Science, Psychology, Social Work, Communication.
  • 1500 titles, most available in full text.

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Psychology, Social Work, Education.
  • 200,000 articles available from 110 journals.
  • Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA).
  • 1894-present.

PsycINFO (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Psychology, Social Work, Education.
  • 2,500 different journals, three million documents, dissertations, citations and summaries.
  • 1800-present, with some content as far back as the 1600s.
  • Indexing and abstracts only, no full text; documents can be obtained from other databases or through interlibrary loan.
  • Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA).

PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
  • Biology, Nursing, Exercise Science, Chemistry, Environmental Studies, Nutrition, Psychology, Social Work.
  • 27 million citations.
  • Full text of these articles can be found in other library databases or through interlibrary loan.

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Physical sciences, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences.
  • Full-text scientific database with millions of documents.
  • Journal articles from nearly 2,500 open access journals.
  • Book chapters from more than 30,000 books.

Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO) Restricted Resource
  • Social Work, Psychology, Emergency Services.
  • 450 titles.
  • 1965-present.
  • Full text of these articles can be found in other library databases or through interlibrary loan.

TestLink: The ETS Test Collection Some full text available
  • Social Work, Psychology, Education.
  • 25,000 tests.
  • Information on standardized tests and research instruments is available from the early 1900s-present.

General Databases
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject. 4,600 journals full text. Indexing for articles in 8,500 additional journals.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, Business, English & Literature, History, World Languages & Cultures. Full-text scholarly journals, books, and documents. 

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, History, Business, Political Science, Journalism, Social Work. 15,000  business, legal, and news sources. Includes The New York Times, The Washington Post. Information for over 80 million companies.

ProQuest Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject. Select individual databases for merged search results: 40 databases (mostly full-text), Academic Video Online, and Ebook Central.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jason St Clair

Jason St Clair
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: 965-6540

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Discovery Search
Do a combined search of all the library databases and the library catalog.
‚Äč
advanced search
Book Search
Search for in
Borrowing Books from Other Libraries

Books, media, and articles not available at the PUC Library may be borrowed from other libraries at no charge. You will be notified when the items arrive.

 
  • LINK+

For the fastest service, check the LINK+ catalog first. This service provides quick access to California libraries that share a combined collection of about four million unique titles (books and media). Items will arrive in 3-4 days.

 

  • INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Items not available through LINK+ can still be requested from another library. Non-LINK+ requests take about 7-10 days to arrive.  Articles usually arrive in 1-2 days.


If you are using  and find an item you want to borrow, select the "Borrow from another library" option and complete the form.

If you are using Discovery Search (EBSCO) and find an article not available online, select the “Request” option and complete the form.


If you're not sure where to start, visit the Interlibrary Loan page for more information.