Sources for Research in Political Science
Introduction
Use the sources listed here to get started on research in Political Science.  When you need more help, ask for a reference librarian at the front desk in the library or contact the subject specialist, Katy Van Arsdale.

The first box, "All Items by Source", lists electronic resources specifically for Political Science.
All Items by Source

Databases

BrillOnline Primary Sources: Cold War Intelligence 1945-1991 Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • History, Political Science.
  • 2,360 documents.
  • Information once classified Top Secret or higher.
  • Covers the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War.

BrillOnline Primary Sources: U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East 1945-2009 Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • History, Political Science.
  • 189 reports.
  • Covers the U.S. intelligence community's activities in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa.
  • World War II-present.
  • Topics include the 2002-03 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran's nuclear program.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs: CBCA (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, Business, Political Science.
  • 600 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 1,000.
  • 1933-present.
  • Current events and scholarly articles with a Canadian perspective.

Canadian Newsstand (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, History, Journalism, Political Science.
  • 300 Canadian newspapers.
  • 1970-present.

GPO Monthly Catalog: Government Documents (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
  • History, Political Science.
  • 500,000 documents listed.
  • 1976-present.
  • Congressional reports, judiciary materials, and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, History, Business, Political Science, Journalism, Social Work.
  • 15,000  business, legal, and news sources.
  • Includes The New York Times, The Washington Post.
  • Information for over 80 million companies.

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • History, Political Science.
  • 300 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 400.
  • Covers all branches of the U.S. military and government.

ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Social Work, Psychology, Political Science.
  • Access to over 600 titles, most available full text.
  • 1981-present.
  • Topics include criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, social work.

ProQuest Military Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Aviation, History, Political Science.
  • 400 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 150.
  • 1990-present, selected titles as far back as 1920.
  • Content covers all government and military branches, as well as international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering.

ProQuest Social Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Business, Education, Political Science, Psychology, Social Work, Communication.
  • 1500 titles, most available in full text.

News Sources

Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1955) Some full text available
Searchable, zoomable archive of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle, a newspaper that reported on local and national events. Archive provided by the Brooklyn Public Library.
Chronicling America Some full text available
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Available from the Library of Congress.

Primary Sources

Calisphere Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
  • Multi-subject
  • More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts.
  • Searches more than 500 University of California websites on subjects ranging from history, math, literature, and anthropology to film, contemporary art, marine sciences, medical and health issues, and much more.

General Databases
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject. 4,600 journals full text. Indexing for articles in 8,500 additional journals.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, Business, English & Literature, History, World Languages & Cultures. Full-text scholarly journals, books, and documents. 

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, History, Business, Political Science, Journalism, Social Work. 15,000  business, legal, and news sources. Includes The New York Times, The Washington Post. Information for over 80 million companies.

ProQuest Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject. Select individual databases for merged search results: 40 databases (mostly full-text), Academic Video Online, and Ebook Central.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Katy Van Arsdale

Katy Van Arsdale
Special Collections Librarian
Tel: 965-6244

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Discovery Search
Do a combined search of all the library databases and the library catalog.
‚Äč
advanced search
Book Search
Search for in
Borrowing Books from Other Libraries

Books, media, and articles not available at the PUC Library may be borrowed from other libraries at no charge. You will be notified when the items arrive.

 
  • LINK+

For the fastest service, check the LINK+ catalog first. This service provides quick access to California libraries that share a combined collection of about four million unique titles (books and media). Items will arrive in 3-4 days.

 

  • INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Items not available through LINK+ can still be requested from another library. Non-LINK+ requests take about 7-10 days to arrive.  Articles usually arrive in 1-2 days.


If you are using  and find an item you want to borrow, select the "Borrow from another library" option and complete the form.

If you are using Discovery Search (EBSCO) and find an article not available online, select the “Request” option and complete the form.


If you're not sure where to start, visit the Interlibrary Loan page for more information.