Sources for Research in Journalism
Introduction
Use the sources listed here to get started on research in Journalism.  When you need more help, ask for a reference librarian at the front desk in the library or contact the subject specialist, Katy Van Arsdale.

The first box, "All Items by Source", lists electronic resources specifically for Journalism.
All Items by Source

Databases

Canadian Newsstand (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, History, Journalism, Political Science.
  • 300 Canadian newspapers.
  • 1970-present.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Communication, Journalism, Business, Film & Television.
  • 500 journals full text, indexing to an additional 800.
  • 1915-present.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, History, Business, Political Science, Journalism, Social Work.
  • 15,000  business, legal, and news sources.
  • Includes The New York Times, The Washington Post.
  • Information for over 80 million companies.

Newspaper Source (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, Journalism, Communication, Film & Television, History.
  • 40 full-text U.S. and international newspapers, selective full text for 400 regional newspapers.
  • Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts.

Newswires (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, Business, Communication, Journalism.
  • Real-time access to world-wide news reports from Associated Press, United Press, CNN, and more.
  • An index to the content is held for a rolling 30-day archive.

ProQuest U.S. Newsstream Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, Business, Journalism.
  • 1,300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading U.S. publishers.
  • Included are backfiles for most newspapers, such as the New York Times from 1980-present and the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present.

News Sources

Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1955) Some full text available
Searchable, zoomable archive of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle, a newspaper that reported on local and national events. Archive provided by the Brooklyn Public Library.
Chronicling America Some full text available
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Available from the Library of Congress.
General Databases
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject. 4,600 journals full text. Indexing for articles in 8,500 additional journals.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, Business, English & Literature, History, World Languages & Cultures. Full-text scholarly journals, books, and documents. 

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, History, Business, Political Science, Journalism, Social Work. 15,000  business, legal, and news sources. Includes The New York Times, The Washington Post. Information for over 80 million companies.

ProQuest Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject. Select individual databases for merged search results: 40 databases (mostly full-text), Academic Video Online, and Ebook Central.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Katy Van Arsdale

Katy Van Arsdale
Special Collections Librarian
Tel: 965-6244

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Discovery Search
Do a combined search of all the library databases and the library catalog.
‚Äč
advanced search
Book Search
Search for in
Borrowing Books from Other Libraries

Books, media, and articles not available at the PUC Library may be borrowed from other libraries at no charge. You will be notified when the items arrive.

 
  • LINK+

For the fastest service, check the LINK+ catalog first. This service provides quick access to California libraries that share a combined collection of about four million unique titles (books and media). Items will arrive in 3-4 days.

 

  • INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Items not available through LINK+ can still be requested from another library. Non-LINK+ requests take about 7-10 days to arrive.  Articles usually arrive in 1-2 days.


If you are using  and find an item you want to borrow, select the "Borrow from another library" option and complete the form.

If you are using Discovery Search (EBSCO) and find an article not available online, select the “Request” option and complete the form.


If you're not sure where to start, visit the Interlibrary Loan page for more information.