Books and ebooks
Available at PUC: Use keywords to search the library catalog or scroll through lists of books by subject. Most of the links below will open a list of narrower topics. Clicking a narrower topic will open a list of books you can check out or read full text online.

World history, divided by century or topic. World History
African history, divided by dates or topic. Africa -- History
European history, divided by century or topic. Europe -- History
Medieval history, 500-1500 A.D. ("middle ages") OR (medieval)
Renaissance history, 1450-1600 A.D. Renaissance
Latin American history, divided by dates or topic. Latin America -- History
South American history, divided by dates or topic. South America -- History
United States history, divided by dates or topic. United States -- History
Modern history, from about 1600 to today. History, Modern

Available online: Search digital libraries.
HathiTrust Digital Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Contains scanned historical works, some full text.

Google Books Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Scanned books and magazines, some full text. 

Open Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable database of books, a few full text, with links to WorldCat to borrow physical copies.



 
Book Search
Search for in
Primary Sources
These lists of primary sources are not complete. Much more is available at the library and online. If you don't find what you're looking for, ask a librarian for help.

BrillOnline Primary Sources: Cold War Intelligence 1945-1991 Restricted Resource Some full text available
History, Political Science. 2,360 documents. Information once classified Top Secret or higher. Covers the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War.


BrillOnline Primary Sources: U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East 1945-2009 Restricted Resource Some full text available
History, Political Science. 189 reports. Covers the U.S. intelligence community's activities in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. World War II-present. Topics include the 2002-03 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran's nuclear program.


Calisphere Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Multi-subject More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts. Searches more than 500 University of California websites on subjects ranging from history, math, literature, and anthropology to film, contemporary art, marine sciences, medical and health issues, and much more.

Daily Life through American History in Primary Documents Four volumes that present daily American life from colonial times to the 21st century through primary documents that include diaries, letters, memoirs, speeches, sermons, pamphlets, and public and private writings.

GPO Monthly Catalog: Government Documents (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
History, Political Science. 500,000 documents listed. 1976-present. Congressional reports, judiciary materials, and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).




Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
History, Political Science. 300 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 400. Covers all branches of the U.S. military and government.

Online Archive of California Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multi-subject Access to descriptions of primary resource collections. Included 220,000 digital images and documents from libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California.

ProQuest Military Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Aviation, History, Political Science. 400 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 150. 1990-present, selected titles as far back as 1920. Content covers all government and military branches, as well as international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering.

The PUC library also contain primary sources such as diaries, manuscripts, correspondence, postcards, photographs, videos, artifacts, oral histories and more on a variety of subjects, such as:
  • PUC, Angwin, and Napa Valley history
  • Adventist church history, including major debates about beliefs
  • Life on the Pitcairn Islands
  • Mission work in the Pacific
  • Soviet propaganda posters
  • Military uniforms and the fashion merchandising collection
  • 17th century France
  • Currency collection, mostly European coins from the 1800s

 
Articles
Start your search for articles in these databases.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject. 4,600 journals full text. Indexing for articles in 8,500 additional journals.

ArticleFirst (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
Multi-subject. 16,000 journals indexed. 1990-present. Full text of these articles can be found in other library databases or through interlibrary loan.

Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) Library Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video
Theology, History, and religion. 7000 articles. Biblical Archaeology Review (1975-present),  Bible Review (1985-2005), Archaeology Odyssey (1998-2006). Related books are also indexed. Selected video lectures and seminars given by some of the world’s top Biblical scholars and archaeologists are available.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, Business, English & Literature, History, World Languages & Cultures. Full-text scholarly journals, books, and documents. 

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, History, Business, Political Science, Journalism, Social Work. 15,000  business, legal, and news sources. Includes The New York Times, The Washington Post. Information for over 80 million companies.

Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
English & Literature, World Languages & Cultures, History. Information on thousands of authors and their works. All literary disciplines and time periods. Included are full-text pllot summaries, literary criticism, biographical essays, book reveiws, full text poetry and short stories, author interviews.


Literature Resource Center (Gale) Restricted Resource Some full text available
English & Literature, World Languages & Cultures, History. Information on 130,000 authors and their works. Critical essays, full-text works, biographies, articles. 1926-present.



ProQuest Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject. Select individual databases for merged search results: 40 databases (mostly full-text), Academic Video Online, and Ebook Central.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO) Restricted Resource
Multi-subject, History. Three million articles from 550 journals. Full text of these articles can be obtained through interlibrary loan. Provides access to information about history, culture, and science across nearly a century.

From the list of all journals, you can find specific titles or filter by subject, such as "History -- General," or "History of Europe."
Publication Finder (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Katy Van Arsdale

Katy Van Arsdale
Special Collections Librarian
Tel: 965-6244

Citing Sources
Chicago manual of style:
Official website Quick Guide
Guide to the Chicago manual from OWL at Purdue

You can browse the table of contents on the Chicago manual of style's official website. To read further, check the library copies, linked below.

The Chicago manual of style, 15th ed.




The Chicago manual of style, 16th ed.
Newspapers
Newspapers are available online and also in bound volumes at the library.

Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1955) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable, zoomable archive of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle, a newspaper that reported on local and national events. Archive provided by the Brooklyn Public Library.

Canadian Newsstand (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, History, Journalism, Political Science. 300 Canadian newspapers. 1970-present.


Chronicling America Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Available from the Library of Congress.

Newspaper Source (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, Journalism, Communication, Film & Television, History. 40 full-text U.S. and international newspapers, selective full text for 400 regional newspapers. Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts.


The New York Times
Searchable full text archives available after creating an account.

Seventh-day Adventist Obituary Index Restricted Resource
History, Theology. Contains citations for obituaries printed in journals published by the Seventh-day Adventist Church. 1850-present.

The Times (London) approx. 1870s-1940s.
Bound volumes of the original paper available from the library.

 
Reference Sources
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Biography in Context (Gale) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Short biographies of famous people.

Britannica Academic: The Online Encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Encyclopedia entries with links to related videos, images, ebooks, and articles. 

Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Dictionary that includes historical uses of words and when or where they were invented.

Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and ebooks arranged by subject.

Salem Press Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles that introduce subjects and time periods. 

Atlases and Maps
Atlases at the library. Atlas

David Rumsey Map Collection Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Search more than 150,000 maps of the World, North and South America, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. Items range in date from about 1550 to the present.

Library of Congress Map Collections

Old Maps Online Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
OldMapsOnline.org indexes over 400,000 maps from museums, libraries, and government agencies around the world.

Statistics and Population information
The United States Census Bureau

Historical census data (1790-1960)

Books about United States population statistics. United States -- Population -- Statistics.
Research FAQs
Links to common research questions and related guides.

How to Select a Research Topic 
Copyright (From UNC)
Evaluating Resources (from OWL at Purdue)
Avoiding Plagiarism: Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing (from OWL at Purdue)
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files