Sources for General Research
Introduction
Use the electronic resources listed below to get started on research in any topic.  When you need more help, ask for a reference librarian at the front desk in the library.
 
All Items by Source

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • 4,600 journals full text.
  • Indexing for articles in 8,500 additional journals.

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) Restricted Resource Resource contains video
  • Multi-subject, Film & Television.
  • Streaming video.
  • 70,000 titles.
  • Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.

Ambrose Digital: Streaming Video Restricted Resource Resource contains video
  • Multi-subject, Film & Television.
  • Streaming video.
  • Educational videos primarily from BBC and public television productions.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
ArticleFirst (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
  • Multi-subject.
  • 16,000 journals indexed.
  • 1990-present.
  • Full text of these articles can be found in other library databases or through interlibrary loan.

Books in Print (Bowker) Restricted Resource
  • Multi-subject.
  • Millions of titles listed by subject, genre, author, or title.
  • Information on books, audiobooks, and videos (both in and out of print).
  • Full-text reviews for selected titles.

Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, Business.
  • 2,300 journals.
  • 1886-present, updated daily.
  • Additional full-text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs: CBCA (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, Business, Political Science.
  • 600 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 1,000.
  • 1933-present.
  • Current events and scholarly articles with a Canadian perspective.

Canadian Newsstand (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, History, Journalism, Political Science.
  • 300 Canadian newspapers.
  • 1970-present.

ClasePeriodica (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
  • Multi-subject, Modern Languages.
  • 2,600 journals selectively indexed.
  • Scholarly information from Latin American and Caribbean publications in the Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English languages.

Discovery Search (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • Searches most of the library’s databases simultaneously.
  • Combines dozens of resources including Academic Search Premiere, JSTOR, WorldCat, and CINAHL databases.
  • Includes results from the library catalog.

EBSCOhost Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • 31 databases.
  • Select multiple Ebsco databases for doing a combined search with merged results.

Films on Demand (Films Media Group) Restricted Resource Resource contains video
  • Multi-subject, Film & Television.
  • Streaming video.
  • Over 25,000 educational videos.

FirstSearch Restricted Resource
  • Multi-subject.
  • Search across 13 different databases with merged results.

Gale Databases Combined Search Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • Search two or more Gale databases at a time.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Biography in Context, Twayne's Authors, Scribner Writers, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Health & Wellness Center.
  • Results include articles, book chapters, and complete ebooks.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • 20,000 ebooks and specialized reference sources.

Ingentaconnect
  • Multi-subject.
  • 4.5 million scholarly article citations.
  • Full text of these articles can be found in other library databases or through interlibrary loan.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, Business, English & Literature, History, World Languages & Cultures.
  • Full-text scholarly journals, books, and documents. 

LexisNexis Academic [now Nexis Uni] Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, History, Business, Political Science, Journalism, Social Work.
  • 15,000  business, legal, and news sources.
  • Includes The New York Times, The Washington Post.
  • Information for over 80 million companies.

MAS Ultra: School Edition (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • 500 full-text magazines, 360 reference books, 85,000 biographies, 100,000 primary source documents, 960,000 images.
  • 1975-present.
  • Designed for lower-division college students and high school students.

Newspaper Source (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, Journalism, Communication, Film & Television, History.
  • 40 full-text U.S. and international newspapers, selective full text for 400 regional newspapers.
  • Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts.

Newswires (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, Business, Communication, Journalism.
  • Real-time access to world-wide news reports from Associated Press, United Press, CNN, and more.
  • An index to the content is held for a rolling 30-day archive.

Nexis Uni [formerly LexisNexis Academic] Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, History, Business, Political Science, Journalism, Social Work.
  • 15,000  business, legal, and news sources.
  • Includes The New York Times, The Washington Post.
  • Information for over 80 million companies.

Occupational Outlook Handbook (Bureau of Labor Statistics) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, Business, Education.
  • Covers hundreds of occupations with details on training and education needed, earnings, and job prospects.
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections are included.

Online Books Page Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • Lists of over two million free ebooks available online.

Open Library Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • Access to over one million ebooks, both fiction and non-fiction.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • Thousands of full-text pro/con essays on current social issues.
  • Recent research may include statistics, images, court-case overviews, news podcasts, biographies, links to journal articles.
  • Sample topics include offshore drilling, climate change, health care, immigration.

Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • 286 full-text reference books, including leading  encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks covering all subject areas.

PapersFirst (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
  • Multi-subject.
  • Published conference papers received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
  • 1993-present

PQDT Open: Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • Selected open-access dissertations and theses.

Primary Search (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • Multi-subject, Education.
  • 70 magazines full text, indexing to an additional 100.
  • 1990-present: full text, 1985-present: indexed.
  • Database includes a dictionary and an image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
  • Designed for elementary school students.

Proceedings (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
  • Multi-subject.
  • Search for every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
  • Each record contains a list of papers presented at each conference.
  • Updated every week.

ProQuest Career and Technical Education Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, Business, Education.
  •  500 full text titles, indexing to an additional 100.
  • Careers, vocational training, the job search.

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • Search all 40 ProQuest databases together and retrieve merged results.
  • 1971-present.

ProQuest Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • Select individual databases for merged search results: 40 databases (mostly full-text), Academic Video Online, and Ebook Central.

ProQuest Dissertation Express
  • Multi-subject.
  • Two million titles with abstracts.
  • To obtain a complete dissertation or thesis, request it through interlibrary loan or purchase it online through the database.

ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • 3,500 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 1,500.
  • 1971-present.

ProQuest U.S. Newsstream Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, Business, Journalism.
  • 1,300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading U.S. publishers.
  • Included are backfiles for most newspapers, such as the New York Times from 1980-present and the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present.

Publication Finder (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • Complete list of online and print journals available through the PUC library.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO) Restricted Resource
  • Multi-subject, History.
  • Three million articles from 550 journals.
  • Full text of these articles can be obtained through interlibrary loan.
  • Provides access to information about history, culture, and science across nearly a century.

SpringerLink Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • Millions of documents, journals, and ebooks.
  • Subjects covered include science, technology, medicine, business, education, law, philosophy, psychology.
 

WorldCat Discovery Restricted Resource
  • Multi-subject.
  • Search the combined library catalogs of over 11,000 libraries.
  • Most of these items can be obtained through LINK+ or interlibrary loan.

WorldCatDissertations (FirstSearch) Restricted Resource
  • Multi-subject.
  • 8 million dissertations and theses published worldwide.
  • Many of these items can be obtained through interlibrary loan.

Books & eBooks

Ebook Central (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • 150,000 ebooks. 

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • Search this selection of ebooks by title or topic.
  • 7000 titles.

Google Books Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • Millions of books to read for free, preview, or purchase.
  • Print copies can be borrowed from another library.

HathiTrust Digital Library Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • 10 million scholarly books to read or preview.
  • Print copies can be borrowed from another library.

JustFreeBooks Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • Indexes the content of more than 700 web sites, including gutenberg.org, wikibooks.org, and archive.org.
  • Locate public domain texts, open books, free audio books, and ad-supported books.

Library Catalog
  • Index to the physical collections of the Pacific Union College Library.
  • Books, ebooks, journals, and media.

Web Sites

Kanopy (Video Streaming) Resource contains video
  • Multi-subject, Film & Television.
  • Streaming video via web, iOS app, Android app, Apple TV, ChromCast, Roku.
  • 31,000 titles.
  • Feature Films, Indie Films, Classics, Documentaries, Instructional Videos, Great Courses.

News Sources

New York Times Restricted Resource Some full text available
A campuswide subscription to NYTimes.com includes unlimited access to The New York Times inEducation — a resource curated by educators, for educators. For full access, first time users must setup an account at https://nytimes.com/grouppass from PUC's network (wired or WiFi but not from a cellular connection). After your account is created on campus, you can login from anywhere for a year for full access to the web site and to the NYT mobile apps.

Biographical Information

Biography in Context (Gale) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, History.
  • Over a million entries for notable people in all fields, from all time periods.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, English & Literature.
  • The online version of the definitive dictionary and history of the English language.

Encyclopedias

Britannica Academic: The Online Encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • Multi-subject, History.
  • Includes multi-media content, ebooks, primary sources, news, statistics, maps, and general biographies.
  • Includes full content from Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject.
  • 25,000 records.

Statistics & Data

Statista Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • Multi-subject.
  • Statistics and data from over 18,000 sources
  • Infographics, tables, and charts can be downloaded, edited, and cited
  • Visual content for presentations and reports

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Discovery Search
Do a combined search of all the library databases and the library catalog.
‚Äč
advanced search
Book Search
Search for in
Borrowing Books from Other Libraries

Books, media, and articles not available at the PUC Library may be borrowed from other libraries at no charge. You will be notified when the items arrive.

 
  • LINK+

For the fastest service, check the LINK+ catalog first. This service provides quick access to California libraries that share a combined collection of about four million unique titles (books and media). Items will arrive in 3-4 days.

 

  • INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Items not available through LINK+ can still be requested from another library. Non-LINK+ requests take about 7-10 days to arrive.  Articles usually arrive in 1-2 days.


If you are using  and find an item you want to borrow, select the "Borrow from another library" option and complete the form.

If you are using Discovery Search (EBSCO) and find an article not available online, select the “Request” option and complete the form.


If you're not sure where to start, visit the Interlibrary Loan page for more information.