Sources for Research in English & Literature
Introduction
Use the sources listed here to get started on research in English & Literature.  When you need more help, ask for a reference librarian at the front desk in the library or contact the subject specialist, Allison Fox.

The first box, "All Items by Source", lists electronic resources specifically for English & Literature.
All Items by Source

Databases

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, Business, English & Literature, History, World Languages & Cultures.
  • Full-text scholarly journals, books, and documents. 

Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • English & Literature, World Languages & Cultures, History.
  • Information on thousands of authors and their works.
  • All literary disciplines and time periods.
  • Included are full-text pllot summaries, literary criticism, biographical essays, book reveiws, full text poetry and short stories, author interviews.

Literature Resource Center (Gale) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • English & Literature, World Languages & Cultures, History.
  • Information on 130,000 authors and their works.
  • Critical essays, full-text works, biographies, articles.
  • 1926-present.

LitFinder (Gale) Restricted Resource
  • English & Literature, Modern Languages, Theater Studies.
  • 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
  • Includes author information.
  • Contains Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
  • Contains

Scribner Writers (Gale) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • English & Literature, Modern Languages, Theater Studies.
  • 4000 documents, 15-20 pages in length.
  • Covers the lives and works of authors from around the world in all time periods.

Twayne's Authors (Gale) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • English & Literature, World Languages & Cultures.
  • In-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres.

Books & eBooks

Salem Press Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • History, Literature, Science, Theology.
  • Search and read online the complete content of printed reference books.
  • These sets are included in the database: The Decades (American history 1920-1990), Great Events from History (Ancient World-20th Century), Milestone Documents of World Religions, and more.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multi-subject, English & Literature.
  • The online version of the definitive dictionary and history of the English language.

General Databases
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject. 4,600 journals full text. Indexing for articles in 8,500 additional journals.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, Business, English & Literature, History, World Languages & Cultures. Full-text scholarly journals, books, and documents. 

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, History, Business, Political Science, Journalism, Social Work. 15,000  business, legal, and news sources. Includes The New York Times, The Washington Post. Information for over 80 million companies.

ProQuest Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject. Select individual databases for merged search results: 40 databases (mostly full-text), Academic Video Online, and Ebook Central.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Allison Fox

Allison Fox
Access Services Librarian
Tel: 965-6632

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Discovery Search
Do a combined search of all the library databases and the library catalog.
‚Äč
advanced search
Book Search
Search for in
Borrowing Books from Other Libraries

Books, media, and articles not available at the PUC Library may be borrowed from other libraries at no charge. You will be notified when the items arrive.

 
  • LINK+

For the fastest service, check the LINK+ catalog first. This service provides quick access to California libraries that share a combined collection of about four million unique titles (books and media). Items will arrive in 3-4 days.

 

  • INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Items not available through LINK+ can still be requested from another library. Non-LINK+ requests take about 7-10 days to arrive.  Articles usually arrive in 1-2 days.


If you are using  and find an item you want to borrow, select the "Borrow from another library" option and complete the form.

If you are using Discovery Search (EBSCO) and find an article not available online, select the “Request” option and complete the form.


If you're not sure where to start, visit the Interlibrary Loan page for more information.