Sources for Research in Emergency Services
Introduction
Use the sources listed here to get started on research in Emergency Services.  When you need more help, ask for a reference librarian at the front desk in the library or contact the subject specialist, Patrick Benner.

The first box, "All Items by Source", lists electronic resources specifically for Emergency Services.
All Items by Source

Databases

AHFS Consumer Medication Information (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services.
  • 1,500 drug information reports updated monthly.
  • Produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Emergency Services, Exercise Science, Nutrition.
  • 600 full-text journal titles, indexing to an additional 3,000.
  • 1981-present.
  • Access also provided to related books, dissertations, proceedings, standards of practice, multi-media content.

Drugs.com: Drug Information Online Some full text available
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services.
  • Drug and related health information provided by articles and online medical reference works.
  • Documents from Harvard Health Publications, Mayo Clinic, and Stedman's Medical Dictionary are included.

Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services, Nutrition.
  • Hundreds of health reference books, encyclopedias, medical images, videos, pamphlets, and articles.
  • Includes full-text access to 80 popular health magazines.

Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services, Nutrition.
  • 550 journals full text, an additional 850 journals indexed.
  • Includes full text of Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.

Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Biology, Emergency Services, Exercise Science, Nutrition, Chemistry, Psychology, Social Work.
  • 1,500 journals full text, 5,000 journals indexed.
  • 1965-present: full text, 1949-present: indexed.
  • Topics include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and allied health professions.

Natural Medicines Research Collaboration Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Nutrition, Exercise Science, Emergency Services.
  • Covers complementary and alternative medicine, including dietary supplements and integrative therapies.

ProQuest Family Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Nutrition, Emergency Services, Exercise Science.
  • Journals included range from professional titles suchs as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine to popular journals and news sources.
  • Access is provided to over 500 titles.

ProQuest Health & Medical Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Nutrition, Emergency Services, Exercise Science.
  • 1,300 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 200.
  • Articles are included from clinical research journals as well as consumer and health administration journals.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Emergency Services, Exercise Science, Nutrition.
  • 715 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 125.
  • 12,000 full-text dissertations.

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Physical sciences, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences.
  • Full-text scientific database with millions of documents.
  • Journal articles from nearly 2,500 open access journals.
  • Book chapters from more than 30,000 books.

Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO) Restricted Resource
  • Social Work, Psychology, Emergency Services.
  • 450 titles.
  • 1965-present.
  • Full text of these articles can be found in other library databases or through interlibrary loan.

Dictionaries

Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary (Gale) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services, Nutrition.
  • Authoritative definitions of medical terms.

General Databases
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject. 4,600 journals full text. Indexing for articles in 8,500 additional journals.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, Business, English & Literature, History, World Languages & Cultures. Full-text scholarly journals, books, and documents. 

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject, History, Business, Political Science, Journalism, Social Work. 15,000  business, legal, and news sources. Includes The New York Times, The Washington Post. Information for over 80 million companies.

ProQuest Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-subject. Select individual databases for merged search results: 40 databases (mostly full-text), Academic Video Online, and Ebook Central.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Patrick Benner

Patrick Benner
Director & Systems Librarian
Tel: 965-6641

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Discovery Search
Do a combined search of all the library databases and the library catalog.
‚Äč
advanced search
Book Search
Search for in
Borrowing Books from Other Libraries

Books, media, and articles not available at the PUC Library may be borrowed from other libraries at no charge. You will be notified when the items arrive.

 
  • LINK+

For the fastest service, check the LINK+ catalog first. This service provides quick access to California libraries that share a combined collection of about four million unique titles (books and media). Items will arrive in 3-4 days.

 

  • INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Items not available through LINK+ can still be requested from another library. Non-LINK+ requests take about 7-10 days to arrive.  Articles usually arrive in 1-2 days.


If you are using  and find an item you want to borrow, select the "Borrow from another library" option and complete the form.

If you are using Discovery Search (EBSCO) and find an article not available online, select the “Request” option and complete the form.


If you're not sure where to start, visit the Interlibrary Loan page for more information.