Databases
ABCDEFGHIJLMNOPRSTWNumAll

ABI-Inform Complete (ProQuest)
  • Business, company profiles, computing, economics, and finance.
  • 7,000 business journals and documents.
  • 1971-present.
  • Wall Street Journal is available full text.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
  • Multi-subject.
  • 4,600 journals full text.
  • Indexing for articles in 8,500 additional journals.

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street)
  • Multi-subject, Film & Television.
  • Streaming video.
  • 20,000 titles, 400 added monthly.
  • Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.

AccessScience (McGraw Hill)
  • Aviation, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Mathematics, Nursing, Physics.
  • Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms.
  • Images, videos, essay suggestions, AP study guides, and topical study guides.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information (EBSCO)
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services.
  • 1,500 drug information reports updated monthly.
  • Produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO)
  • Nursing, Nutrition, Exercise Science.
  • 180 journals plus hundreds of other documents.
  • 1990-present: full text, 1984-1989: indexed.
  • Information on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Ambrose Video 2.0
  • Multi-subject, Film & Television.
  • Streaming video.
  • Educational videos primarily from BBC and public television productions.

American Chemical Society Journals
  • Chemistry, Biology.
  • 70 journals, 45 full text.

Annual Review of Biochemistry
  • Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Studies; includes biomedical science, social sciences.
  • 1997-present: full text, 1932-1996: indexed.

ArticleFirst (FirstSearch)
  • Multi-subject.
  • 16,000 journals indexed.
  • 1990-present.
  • Full text of these articles can be found in other library databases or through interlibrary loan.

ATLA Religion Index (EBSCO)
  • Theology and religion.
  • 2,000 journals.
  • 1949-present.
  • Journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.

Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive
  • Theology, History, and religion.
  • 6,500 articles.
  • Biblical Archaeology Review (1975-present),  Bible Review (1985-2005), Archaeology Odyssey (1998-2006).
  • Related books are also indexed.
  • Selected video lectures and seminars given by some of the world’s top Biblical scholars and archaeologists are available.

Bibliography of the History of Art: BHA (Getty Museum)
  • Visual Arts. 
  • 1975-2007.
  • Combined with Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) this is produced by The Getty Research Institute to index selected European and American visual arts material.

Biography in Context (Gale)
  • Multi-subject, History.
  • Over a million entries for notable people in all fields, from all time periods.

BioMed Central
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Nutrition.
  • 250 peer-reviewed open access journals.

BioOne
  • Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Studies.
  • 200 journals.
  • 1998-present.
  • Emphasis is on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

Books in Print (Bowker)
  • Multi-subject.
  • Millions of titles listed by subject, genre, author, or title.
  • Information on books, audiobooks, and videos (both in and out of print).
  • Full-text reviews for selected titles.

BrillOnline Primary Sources: Cold War Intelligence 1945-1991
  • History, Political Science.
  • 2,360 documents.
  • Information once classified Top Secret or higher.
  • Covers the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War.

BrillOnline Primary Sources: U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East 1945-2009
  • History, Political Science.
  • 189 reports.
  • Covers the U.S. intelligence community's activities in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa.
  • World War II-present.
  • Topics include the 2002-03 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran's nuclear program.

Britannica: The Online Encyclopedia
  • Multi-subject, History.
  • Includes multi-media content, ebooks, and general biographies.

Business Expert Press (IG Library)
  • Business.
  • 250 full-text ebooks.
  • Search by title or topic.

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
  • Multi-subject, Business.
  • 2,300 journals.
  • 1965-present.
  • Additional full-text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs: CBCA (ProQuest)
  • Multi-subject, Business, Political Science.
  • 600 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 1,000.
  • 1985-present: full text, 1971-present: indexed.
  • Current events and scholarly articles with a Canadian perspective.

Canadian Newsstand (ProQuest)
  • Multi-subject, History, Journalism, Political Science.
  • 190 Canadian newspapers.
  • 1970-present.

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO)
  • Nursing, Emergency Services, Exercise Science, Nutrition.
  • 600 full-text journal titles, indexing to an additional 3,000.
  • 1981-present.
  • Access also provided to related books, dissertations, proceedings, standards of practice, multi-media content.

ClasePeriodica (FirstSearch)
  • Multi-subject, Modern Languages.
  • 2,600 journals selectively indexed.
  • Scholarly information from Latin American publications in the Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English languages.

Classical Music Library (Alexander Street)
  • Music.
  • Streaming audio.
  • 250,000 tracks.
  • Early music to contemporary compositions.
  • All genres.

CollegeSource Online
  • Education.
  • 70,000 college catalogs and institution profiles for colleges and universities world-wide.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
  • Communication, Journalism, Business, Film & Television.
  • 500 journals full text, indexing to an additional 800.
  • 1915-present.

Discovery Search (EBSCO)
  • Multi-subject.
  • Searches most of the library’s databases simultaneously.
  • Combines dozens of resources including Academic Search Premiere, JSTOR, WorldCat, and CINAHL databases.
  • Includes results from the library catalog.

Drug Finder (Gale)
  • Nursing, Exercise Science.
  • Reliable information on drugs and herbal remedies.

Drugs.com: Drug Information Online
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services.
  • Drug and related health information provided by articles and online medical reference works.

Ebook Central (ProQuest)
  • Multi-subject.
  • 700,000 ebooks. 

eBook Collection (EBSCO)
  • Multi-subject.
  • Search this selection of ebooks by title or topic.

EBSCOhost Complete
  • Multi-subject.
  • 32 databases.
  • Select multiple databases for doing a combined search with merged results.

Education Research Complete (EBSCO)
  • Education, Psychology, Social Work.
  • 1,400 journals full text, indexing to an additional 600.

Ellen G. White Writings
  • Theology and religion.
  • Search or read all published writings of Ellen G. White, including books, articles, compilations, and manuscripts.
  • Search by topic or keyword.

ERIC (EBSCO)
  • Education, Psychology, Social Work.
  • 1.4 million documents with links to over 400,000 additional full-text items.
  • 1966-present.

Films on Demand (Films Media Group)
  • Multi-subject, Film & Television.
  • Streaming video.
  • Hundreds of educational videos.

FirstSearch
  • Multi-subject.
  • Search across 13 different databases with merged results.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
  • Multi-subject.
  • 25,000 records.

Gale Databases Combined Search
  • Multi-subject.
  • Search two or more Gale databases at a time.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Biography in Context, Twayne's Authors, Scribner Writers, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Health & Wellness Center.
  • Results include articles, book chapters, and complete ebooks.

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
  • Nursing, Emergency Services, Exercise Science, Nutrition.
  • Emphasis on medical conditions and diseases.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
  • Multi-subject.
  • Thousands of ebooks and specialized reference sources.

Google Books
  • Multi-subject.
  • Millions of books to read for free, preview, or purchase.
  • Print copies can be borrowed from another library.

GPO Monthly Catalog: Government Documents (FirstSearch)
  • History, Political Science.
  • 500,000 documents listed.
  • 1976-present.
  • Congressional reports, judiciary materials, and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).

GreenFILE (EBSCO)
  • Biology, Environmental Studies, Chemistry.
  • 600,000 records are provided, many full-text.
  • Resources cover the relationship between human beings and the environment in fields including the sciences, agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.

HathiTrust Digital Library
  • Multi-subject.
  • 10 million scholarly books to read or preview.
  • Print copies can be borrowed from another library.

Health & Wellness Resource Center (Gale)
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Nutrition.
  • Resources include ebooks, full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets.

Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services, Nutrition.
  • Hundreds of health reference books, encyclopedias, medical images, videos, pamphlets, and articles.

Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition (EBSCO)
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services, Nutrition.
  • 500 journals full text, 800 journals indexed.
  • Includes full text of Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.

Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest)
  • Business.
  • Information on 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives.

Ingentaconnect
  • Multi-subject.
  • 4.5 million scholarly article citations.
  • Full text of these articles can be found in other library databases or through interlibrary loan.

JSTOR
  • Multi-subject, English & Literature, History, Modern Languages, Theater Studies.
  • 1,400 scholarly journals, monographs, and documents. 

JustFreeBooks
  • Multi-subject.
  • Indexes the content of more than 700 web sites, including gutenberg.org, wikibooks.org, and archive.org.
  • Locate public domain texts, open books, free audio books, and ad-supported books.

LexisNexis Academic
  • Multi-subject, History, Business, Political Science, Journalism, Social Work.
  • 15,000  business, legal, and news sources.
  • Includes The New York Times, The Washington Post.
  • Information for over 80 million companies.

Library Catalog
  • Index to the physical collections of the Pacific Union College Library.
  • Books, ebooks, journals, and media.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts: LISTA (EBSCO)
  • Education, Computer Science; includes librarianship, information management.
  • 600 periodicals, books, research reports, and proceedings.
  • 1960-present.
  • Full text of these articles can be found in other library databases or through interlibrary loan.

Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)
  • English & Literature, Modern Languages, Theater Studies, History.
  • Information on thousands of authors and their works.
  • All literary disciplines and time periods.
  • Plot summaries, literary criticism, biographical essays, book reveiws, full text poetry and short stories, author interviews.

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
  • English & Literature, Modern Languages, Theater Studies, History.
  • Information on 120,000 authors and their works.
  • Critical essays, full-text works, biographies.

LitFinder (Gale)
  • English & Literature, Modern Languages, Theater Studies.
  • 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
  • Includes author information.
  • Contains Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
  • Contains

MAS Ultra: School Edition (EBSCO)
  • Multi-subject.
  • 500 full-text magazines, 360 reference books, 85,000 biographies, 80,000 primary source documents, 960,000 images.
  • 1975-present.
  • Designed for high school students.

Medline with Full Text (EBSCO)
  • Nursing, Biology, Emergency Services, Exercise Science, Nutrition, Chemistry, Psychology, Social Work.
  • 1,500 journals full text, 5,000 journals indexed.
  • 1965-present: full text, 1949-present: indexed.
  • Topics include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and allied health professions.

Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary (Gale)
  • Nursing, Exercise Science, Emergency Services, Nutrition.
  • Authoritative definitions of medical terms.

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)
  • History, Political Science.
  • 300 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 400.
  • Covers all branches of the U.S. military and government.

Natural Medicines Research Collaboration
  • Nursing, Nutrition, Exercise Science, Emergency Services.
  • Covers complementary and alternative medicine, including dietary supplements and integrative therapies.

Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
  • Multi-subject, Journalism, Communication, Film & Television, History.
  • 40 full-text newspapers, selective full text for 400 others.
  • Includes television and radio news transcripts.

Newswires (EBSCO)
  • Multi-subject, Business, Communication, Journalism.
  • Real-time access to world-wide news reports from Associated Press, United Press, CNN, and more.
  • An index to the content is held for a rolling 30-day archive.

Occupational Outlook Handbook (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
  • Multi-subject, Business, Education.
  • Covers hundreds of occupations with details on training and education needed, earnings, and job prospects.
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections are included for 2010–20.

Online Books Page
  • Multi-subject.
  • Lists of over one million free ebooks available online.

Open Library
  • Multi-subject.
  • One million ebooks, both fiction and non-fiction titles.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
  • Multi-subject.
  • 14,000 pro/con essays on current social issues.
  • Recent research may include statistics, images, court-case overviews, news podcasts, biographies, links to journal articles.
  • Sample topics include offshore drilling, climate change, health care, immigration.

Oxford English Dictionary
  • Multi-subject, English & Literature.
  • The online version of the definitive dictionary and history of the English language.

Oxford Reference Online
  • Multi-subject.
  • Two million entries from leading  encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks covering all subject areas.

OxResearch (ProQuest)
  • Multi-subject, Business, History, Political Science.
  • This resource analyzes the impact of economic, social, and political developments worldwide.
  • Compiled by an international network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities.

PapersFirst (FirstSearch)
  • Multi-subject.
  • Published conference papers received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.

Pharmaceutical News Index (ProQuest)
  • Nursing, Biology, Chemistry.
  • Access to 22 pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.
  • Documents contain current information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments.

PQDT Open: Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
  • Multi-subject.
  • Selected open-access dissertations and theses.

Primary Search (EBSCO)
  • Multi-subject, Education.
  • 70 magazines full text, indexing to an additional 100.
  • 1990-present: full text, 1985-present: indexed.
  • Database includes a dictionary and an image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
  • Designed for elementary school students.

Proceedings (FirstSearch)
  • Multi-subject.
  • Search for every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
  • Each record contains a list of papers presented at each conference.

ProQuest Accounting & Tax
  • Business.
  • Articles, dissertations, working papers, newspapers.
  • 1971-present.

ProQuest Asian Business & Reference
  • Business.
  • Provides information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere.
  • 1971-present.

ProQuest Banking Information Source
  • Business.
  • 1971-present.

ProQuest Biology Journals
  • Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Studies.
  • 325 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 100.
  • 1998-present.

ProQuest Career and Technical Education
  • Multi-subject, Business, Education.
  •  500 full text titles, indexing to an additional 100.
  • Careers, vocational training, the job search.

ProQuest Central
  • Multi-subject.
  • Choose from one or more of 28 databases to search with merged results.
  • 1971-present.

ProQuest Complete
  • Multi-subject.
  • Search combined resources for merged search results: 28 databases (full-text), BioOne (abstracts), and ebrary (full-text ebooks).

ProQuest Computing
  • Computer Science.
  • 350 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 100.
  • 1998-present.
  • Topics include database design, software development, web commerce, programming, the internet.

ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index
  • Social Work, Psychology, Political Science.
  • 100 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 150.
  • 1981-present.
  • Topics include criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, social work.

ProQuest Dissertation Express
  • Multi-subject.
  • Two million titles with abstracts.
  • To obtain a complete dissertation or thesis, request it through interlibrary loan or purchase it online through the database.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text
  • Multi-subject.
  • 1997-present: full text, 1743-present: indexed.
  • Selected theses written before 1997 are also available full text.

ProQuest Education Journals
  • Education.
  • 600 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 300.
  • 1988-present.

ProQuest European Business
  • Business.
  • 200 international journals.
  • 1971-present.

ProQuest Family Health
  • Nursing, Nutrition, Emergency Services, Exercise Science.
  • Journals included range from professional titles suchs as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine to popular journals and news sources.

ProQuest Health & Medical Complete
  • Nursing, Nutrition, Emergency Services, Exercise Science.
  • 1,300 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 200.
  • Articles are included from clinical research journals as well as consumer and health administration journals.

ProQuest Health Management
  • Nursing, Business.
  • 800 journals, 4,500 dissertations and theses.
  • Content includes topics such as hospitals, medical insurance, business management, ethics, and healthcare personnel.

ProQuest Military Collection
  • Aviation, History, Political Science.
  • 400 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 150.
  • 1990-present, selected titles as far back as 1920.
  • Content covers all government and military branches, as well as international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering.

ProQuest Newsstand
  • Multi-subject, Business, Journalism.
  • 1,300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world.
  • Included are backfiles for most newspapers, such as the New York Times from 1980-present and the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
  • Nursing, Emergency Services, Exercise Science, Nutrition.
  • 715 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 125.
  • 12,000 full-text dissertations.

ProQuest Psychology Journals
  • Psychology, Social Work.
  • 540 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 100.
  • Topics include clinical and social psychology, genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare.

ProQuest Religion
  • Theology; includes religion, philosophy, ethics.
  • 150 journals.
  • 1986-present.

ProQuest Research Library
  • Multi-subject.
  • 3,500 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 1,500.
  • 1971-present.

ProQuest Science Journals
  • Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Physics, Aviation.
  • 1,000 journals.
  • 1986-present.
  • Covers applied and general sciences.

ProQuest Social Science Journals
  • Business, Education, Political Science, Psychology, Social Work, Communication.
  • 1,000 titles.

ProQuest Telecommunications
  • Communication, Film & Television, Computer Science.
  • 115 full-text titles, indexing to an additional 50.
  • 1995-present.

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
  • Psychology, Social Work, Education.
  • 163,000 articles available from 80 journals.
  • 1894-present.

PsycINFO (EBSCO)
  • Psychology, Social Work, Education.
  • 2,500 different journals, three million documents, dissertations, citations and summaries.
  • 1800-present, with some content as far back as the 1600s.
  • Produced by the American Psychological Association.

Publication Finder (EBSCO)
  • Multi-subject.
  • Complete list of online and print journals available through the PUC library.

PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
  • Biology, Nursing, Exercise Science, Chemistry, Environmental Studies, Nutrition, Psychology, Social Work.
  • 22 million citations.
  • Full text of these articles can be found in other library databases or through interlibrary loan.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)
  • Multi-subject, History.
  • Three million articles from 550 journals.
  • Full text of these articles can be obtained through interlibrary loan.

Regional Business News (EBSCO)
  • Business.
  • 80 regional and international business publications.
  • Transcripts of selected television news programs are also available.

RĂ©pertoire de la litterature de l'art: RILA (Getty Museum)
  • Visual Arts.
  • 1975-2007.
  • Combined with Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) this is produced by The Getty Research Institute to index selected European and American visual arts material.

Salem Press
  • History, Literature, Science, Theology.
  • Search and read online the complete content of printed reference books.
  • These sets are included in the database: The Decades (American history 1920-1990), Great Events from History (Ancient World-20th Century), Milestone Documents of World Religions, and more.

ScienceDirect
  • Physical sciences, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences.
  • Full-text scientific database with millions of documents.
  • Journal articles from nearly 2,500 open access journals.
  • Book chapters from more than 30,000 books.

Scribner Writers (Gale)
  • English & Literature, Modern Languages, Theater Studies.
  • 4000 documents, 15-20 pages in length.
  • Covers the lives and works of authors from around the world in all time periods.

Seventh-day Adventist Obituary Index
  • History, Theology.
  • Contains citations for obituaries printed in journals published by the Seventh-day Adventist Church.
  • 1850-present.

Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index
  • Theology.
  • 40 titles.
  • 1972-present.

Snapshots: Market Research (ProQuest)
  • Business.
  • 9,000 international market reports focusing on 40 industries.

Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO)
  • Social Work, Psychology, Emergency Services.
  • 450 titles.
  • 1965-present.
  • Full text of these articles can be found in other library databases or through interlibrary loan.

SpringerLink
  • Multi-subject.
  • Millions of documents, journals, and ebooks.
  • Subjects covered include science, technology, medicine, business, education, law, philosophy, psychology.
 

Statista
  • Multi-subject.
  • Statistics and data from over 18,000 sources
  • Infographics, tables, and charts can be downloaded, edited, and cited
  • Visual content for presentations and reports

TestLink: The ETS Test Collection
  • Social Work, Psychology, Education.
  • 25,000 tests.
  • Information on standardized tests and research instruments is available from the early 1900s-present.

Twayne's Authors (Gale)
  • English & Literature, Modern Languages, Theater Studies.
  • 10,000 documents.
  • In-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres.

WorldCat Discovery
  • Multi-subject.
  • Search the combined library catalogs of over 11,000 libraries.
  • Most of these items can be obtained through LINK+ or interlibrary loan.

WorldCatDissertations (FirstSearch)
  • Multi-subject.
  • 8 million dissertations and theses published worldwide.
  • Many of these items can be obtained through interlibrary loan.

Search Database Titles

Search Discovery
advanced search
Library Catalog
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files